I Asked For Adventure!

When it’s quiet at work, I like to sit on Virgin Australia’s website and check out all the little breakations they have. Little mini vacations, 2 nights here, 3 nights there, if you want to go really overboard you can get 7 nights somewhere exotic. But I just dream and plan which little 3 day holiday I’d like to take, and imagine the things we would do in those places.

Yesterday I had an idea. I wanted this year to be more adventurous, more spontaneous. I always look at these holidays, but there’s so many great looking trips I’d never actually know which one to book. We could really use a quick break away. We are planning that trip to New Zealand but have decided to postpone til the spring when it won’t be so cold. We are not skiiers, so a mid-winter trip to Queenstown seems like it could be a bit lost on us. But in the spring we’ll be able to hike and do much more outside without feeling like we’re getting frost bite.

Anyway, back to my idea. I went home to hubby and said, “Let’s pick 3-5 of the holidays on Virgin’s website and then draw one out of a hat and do it!” He loved the idea and went straight on the web! The only rules were the place had to be somewhere we both really wanted to go, and somewhere not TOO far away, since we were only going for 2 nights.

After having a look around, we picked our top 4 breakations.

I wrote each one on a separate piece of paper, folded them up, and we put them in a cup (this is hubby shaking the cup, not waving at me).

We couldn’t decide if the first one we picked was the one we should do, or if it should be elimination, and the last one in the cup was our adventure. We decided to flip a coin. There’s an app for that! So we asked the donkey coin. Ears up, we went with the first one we picked. Ears down, we went with the last one left in the cup.

Last one in the cup it was! I got to pick first, and I picked Magnetic Island. A small island off the coast of Townsville that looks great for hiking, swimming, relaxing. Maybe one day we’ll go, but not this time!

Hubby picked next, and he picked Cradle Mountain. I was devastated! I think we both were. You know how when you can’t decide something, so you flip a coin, you get your answer, then realize you really wanted the other one? That’s what was going on with us.

I picked next and hubby took out the last one. He held in his hand the breakation we were taking. I held in my hand the last place to be eliminated. Would we be going to the Great Ocean Road or to Melbourne to see Annie??

I opened my piece of paper and read…
.
.
.
.
Great Ocean Road.

Destiny had told us to go to Melbourne to see Annie. This is the one holiday of all 4 that we had decided would just be the 2 of us and we would see if mum could have Nick for a couple of days. If we went while he was in school, she’d just have to drop him off and pick him up and it wouldn’t be too full on for her having him 3 whole days. Destiny was telling us we need a couples breakation! To Melbourne!

So now I have emailed mum and asked her to watch Nick, and if she agrees we’ll just pick a date in May or June and go. If we had to rank the 4 holidays we chose, this would probably be at the bottom of the list. Ok, it would definitely be at the bottom of the list! But destiny has spoken! And who am I to mess with her!?!?

I asked for Adventure….”We got Annie!”

14 thoughts on “I Asked For Adventure!

  1. Woohooo!!! I love how fun you guys made this, absolutely love it!!! And how could your mum not agree, ps, it was absolutely meant to be!! squee!

    • Darwin, Kakadu, Uluru & Perth were all places we saw and would like to go, but too far away for just 2 days. Need to really spend time there and take it all in. You could do this on a weekend with the fam, come up with 4 different things to do, then let the kids pick one out of a hat. It’s the surprise and not knowing what you’re going to do that makes it fun!

  2. I love how you did this – I think I might use the same way sometime in the future when we are trying to decide !!

    Is Annie a friend in Melbourne ?

    I know you will have a great time. We went there last year – or was it the year before maybe – anyway, Al and I flew in for 3 days then K joined us (she had uni before that) then we were there another 2 days with her – drove the GOR for 2 nights and then spent 2 nights in Adelaide – had an absolute ball. We want to do the GOR with my folks sometime. K is going to meet up with a friend in Melb and do the GOR in the July uni holidays – lts of travelling for everyone – YAY !

    Looking forward to hearing all about the planning etc – always so much fun.

    Have a fantastic week – love, hugs and positive energy.
    Me

    • I’ve heard great things about Melbourne, but a few people have said, “I’m not gonna lie, you’re going to freeze your arse off!” Oh well. We went to Sydney in the middle of winter, twice, and it was cool, but when you’re walking around the city and are in and out of buildings you don’t notice it quite as much as if you’re standing on top of Coronet Peak near Queenstown in the middle of winter!!

  3. That’s so awesome!!! What a great idea!! I want to do that!!! I just need a partner & a car! ๐Ÿ˜€ LOL Have a blast! You two deserve it!!!

  4. But you know while you’re down in Melbourne, you could always do the Great Ocean Road drive as well. It’s so beautiful and amazing! Go out and see the Twelve Apostles, it’s worth the 5-6hr drive outside of Melbourne, you and the hubby will absolutely enjoy it! But if you do go, here’s a word or advice – TAKE AN UMBRELLA OR RAINCOAT – only because there’s a good chance of rain or showers, other than that it is MAGICAL!!! Enjoy!

  5. Great Ocean Road is awesome but for just a weekend away (sans Kids) I’d relax around Melbourne. There are so many sites to see along the G.O.R. it is a weekend minimum in itself. Enjoy Melbourne!

  6. Great idea – love the ways you guys chose it. Makes even chosing the destination exciting. We chose our wedding date with a flip of a 20 cent coin – it was great fun – I’ve kept the coin and we had our wedding on a perfect sunny without-a-cloud-in-the-sky day in the middle of winter in Tassie! That was 14 years ago.

Leave a Reply

