Thankful Thursday

Since I started writing my gratitude journal, it’s been harder to do Thankful Thursdays with Kate because I feel like I am just repeating myself.

But this week Kate has offered a themed Thankful Thursday, so I’ve been sitting here, trying to think of a stressful time in my life. I know, the fact that nothing automatically comes straight to mind is, in itself, something to be grateful for.

It’s not that I have never been stressed. On the contrary, I’ve spent much of my life in a stressed state. I inherited the Worry Gene from my paternal grandmother and it’s taken me 33 (+) years to realise that worrying doesn’t actually help anything.

But I digress.

The most recent stressful time for us I suppose has been my husband’s application to the state police department. It started months ago. And by months, I could almost talk in years.

He decided he wanted to do it, so enrolled in the justice TAFE course. That started in January and went for 18 weeks. After that he did (and passed with flying colours) the fitness test. Then he submitted his application. A couple of months later he got a letter, telling him his testing date, and asking him to call and set up an interview in the week following. ย By the middle of November he had tested (twice), had his interview and had another interview (90 minutes) by phone with the psychs. His references had all been contacted twice. And still there was no word on whether or not he was accepted. Just that his application was complete and “waiting on selection”.

He was told this again in January. 12 months on from starting the TAFE course, we didn’t feel much closer to an answer than we had been a year earlier. In the meantime, he had told his boss, as he was one of his references. And his boss had asked, a couple of times, what was going on with the cops. “You know as much as I do,” my husband responded. Which was practically nothing!

I was worried his boss had found someone to replace him and wanted to know when he was leaving. In a surprise twist, his boss turned around and made him an offer to stay put and NOT join the police. After some negotiating, and three days of thinking about it, he decided to stay. A decision which in the end, we are both happy with. To be truthful, I’d have been happy and supported him no matter what. But there’s a lot less stress this way. He won’t have to live away from home for 7 months while training, he won’t take a massive pay cut for the better part of a year. We won’t be transferred to FNQ with Nick just starting school, and he actually does like where he works. Which was a major part in him deciding to stay.

It’s a massive weight off our shoulders. And I’m glad that his boss saw his value to the company and made a move to keep him. Because do you know, he STILL has not heard from the cops? So not having that constantly weighing on our minds is nice. And I’m thankful we can now move forward, not worrying about “What if…”

As a disclaimer, I have nothing against the cops. I absolutely think the process is necessary – the testing, the interviews, the references, etc. I mean, these guys carry guns, and have an awful lot of power for goodness sake. But I don’t think it should take 6+ months get accepted. It puts people with jobs in awkward situations, when your boss knows you’re trying to leave, but no one actually knows if you’re leaving or not. It’s obviously some kind of red tape administration hold up, and I think if they truly want more police like they keep saying, then something needs to be done to speed the process up. It is a difficult, thankless job, and I’m so proud of my husband for wanting to do it and pursuing it as far as he did, but I think he’s made the right decision for himself, and his family, at this point in time.ย 

10 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. I totally agree that the process seems to be far too long – how do they think people can just sit around waiting to hear !

    It is so much easier to move forward when you have made a decision one way or the other !

    Love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

    • yes, moving forward now! feels great. i guess if you really have a dream to be a cop you’ll wait as long as you need to? i don’t know.

  2. Oh my BIL is having the same thing with the Firies. And I do get why the process is so convoluted but that does not help the families who are waiting waiting waiting!

    So glad it has come to such a happy resolution, and that his boss appreciates him so much ๐Ÿ™‚

    xox

    • my cousin wants to be a firie too, but hasn’t even got past first stage I don’t think. Not many jobs for firefighters. Who knew?? either way, it’s all worked out for us for now, for the next couple of years anyway.

    • it is horrible and we had to put everything on hold, waiting. couldn’t plan much at all wondering if he’d be in the academy or not. glad that is all over for now.

  3. i love that you were open to either option… and i’m sure would have found something to be grateful for either way… but i’m glad things turned out how they did. that relief of just “knowing” what the next step is, is always a good feeling.

    • i really was open to either. could open us to a lot of adventures, being in the cops. and if it was something he really wanted to do, then i wanted him to do it, but i sensed he was doing it for the benefits and trying to provide for us in the long run. so glad he got a bit of a raise to stay where he’s happy.

  4. Wow. THAT is quite the process, but like you I’m glad it’s so thorough. Congrats on a better offer from his boss! It’s about time the show him some appreciation! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

