Week 6 {52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life}

I can’t believe we are already talking about week 7’s challenge, and here I am, last minute (again) catching up with week 6’s. I have been thinking about it, and I even jotted some notes down. Somewhere. Which would be a first, because while I’ve talked about some goals I might have, I am not sure I can remember a time I ever wrote them down.

Goals that are not written down are just wishes. – unknown

Week #6 Challenge : Goal Setting and Priorities

For this challenge I reflected on my values, and my Wheel of Life. What areas of my life need the most improvement, and which ones need them sooner rather than later?

With health sitting on the bottom of the Wheel of Life, weighing in at a miserable 2, I realised that is where I should start.

Health Goals

  • Drink more water
  • Make better choices (iced coffee and 3 cookies at Subway = BAD choices)
  • Exercise 30-60 minutes at least 3 times per week
  • Spend 30 minutes per day alone, with no computes/tv/phone, writing, reading or otherwise relaxing
  • Practice breathing exercises

Next on the Wheel of Life, in a 4-way tie with 3 points, is Family, Relationship, Finance, Happiness. Oh boy. I think I can make family/relationship/happiness goals all combined, because they are all inter-related. We’ll call these Emotional Goals.

Emotional Goals

  • Show affection daily
  • Give thanks and gratitude daily
  • Have at least 1 fun family outing each week
  • Have at least 1 date night every 2 weeks
  • Eat dinner together (we already do this most of the time but I think it is important and needs to be remembered)
  • Turn the TV off and have a drink on the balcony
  • Cut back on computer/phone time during the evening (I was going to say NO phone/computer of an evening, but then remembered goals should be realistic and attainable. I don’t have the willpower yet to go cold turkey. I will have to do it slowly).
  • Be spontaneous!
  • Complete 52 weeks of 52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life!

Financial Goals

  • Save min. $100 per week
  • Don’t withdraw from savings account
  • Starting adding to Nick’s account again, even if only $10 or $20 here and there
  • Save min. $11,000 by the end of 2013.
  • Before spending money, ask, “Do I/we really NEED this?” (this might be pointless, because I am the Queen of Justification. Time to get honest with myself!)

There is NO reason why each of these goals can’t be attained. I think I’m going to print them out and stick them on my bathroom mirror. And maybe on the steering wheel of my car. Seriously though, I can really see all these things paying off in the long run.

It’s not too late to join in with Deb and those of us participating in her 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life challenge. Join in where you want, catch up if you want, link up if you want, or don’t. At least read the challenges and give yourself some food for thought.

7 thoughts on “Week 6 {52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life}

  1. I love that you are doing this challenge – I think it is great that you can put into words what you want to achieve. I am a big wuss and don’t want to commit anything like this to paper because then I will be accountable and right now I don’t want to be accountable for any more than I already am !!!!

    Keep at it and you will get there – your savings will grow and your goals will be achieved ! (Was glad to read that you didn’t go with no computer at night – I would miss our chats !!!)

    Have a great week and take care !
    Me

    • Thanks Linda! I can already feel the changes in my attitude, my outlook on life. It feels great. I wish I’d done it 10 years ago!! 🙂 Hope you’re having a great week. x

  2. You have set great goals, they sound a little challenging but attainable. I love that you’ve included your goal of completing all 52 weeks of 52 weeks to simplify your life. I’ve never done a challenge like this and I’m loving it, I hope to complete all 52 weeks as well 🙂

    • I think it’s interesting to see how many have dropped off since the first week. I am committed to this challenge, and to changing my life, so I really think I can see this through to the end! Will be interesting to see who completes the whole thing. Hope we can both make it!! 🙂

  3. Love your goals and that you paused and made sure you were realistic – i too could not go tech free at night, but think 1-2 nights playing games like backgammon or cards over a drink with hubby would tempt me from the computer and TV.

    i LOVE your pitch for SYL at the end – thank you! “or don’t” = LOL!

    • LOL Deb. Thank you. So far I’m completely FAILING at no tech gadgets at night. My Iphone is never far from my fingers. I SHOULD turn it off and put it away. Small steps I suppose.

Leave a Reply

