Week 4 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

Week #4 Challenge : Wheel of Life 

This isn’t a great picture, but I couldn’t get the thingamajig to work since I’m on a mac, so I just hand-drew the Wheel of Life.

In no particular order:

Home – 4
I love where we live, from the unit we are in to the area, the city we are in. We have everything we could ever need or want and I definitely feel it is our safe haven. It’s not very big, but its big enough for us. It is organised, usually always tidy, and I feel relaxed here. One day I’d like to have a house, but I’m not particularly in any rush. 

Balance – 4
Balance is something I’ve been thinking about/striving for for years now. I was a “career  person” for about 7 years in the US, and we moved back to Australia so we could start our family in a work-to-live, not live-to-work environment. It is important to my husband and I that we have as much leisure and family time as we do work time and living here has allowed us to do that. Life is not about work, it’s about everything you do when you’re NOT at work. Recently my balance has been a bit off because while my husband works all week, I had been working all weekend. I wasn’t getting enough one-on-one time with him, and not nearly enough time as a family of 3. But that is slowly starting to change, as my hours at work are slowly evolving into something a little bit more family-friendly. Thank goodness! 

Happiness – 3
For the most part, when things are in perspective and the sun is shining, I am happy. I have a lot to be happy about. But I think happiness is a journey, not a destination, and there is a daily tug-of-war in my head, over the things I’m not happy about, what I can do to change them, the things I am happy about and how I can be grateful for them every second. I want to work more on being happy for what I have, not sad for what I don’t.

Finance – 3
Our finances have come a long way in the last 18 months, but I am not stupid, they have an awfully long way still to go. I like to think we are a bit smarter, but we both want what we want, and have no patience in waiting and saving for it. We’re going to have to get serious about saving, because we have my BIL’s wedding at the end of next year to save for, and I want to take Nick to Disney (world or land, I don’t care) on the way home. Not to mention we’ll have Nick’s school fees to pay for at some point, either next January or the one after, depending on when he starts. We seem to barely scrape by every week. If there is so much money on the coast, why can’t we get a piece of it?

Family – 3
I count family as extended, not just the 3 of us. My immediate family is all local, no one is further than 15 minutes away from us. It is a conscious effort to make sure we connect regularly, and I feel like I am the one always suggesting get togethers, but if that’s what it takes, then I’m happy to do that. I lived on the other side of the world for 11 years and it is important to me not to take their geographical closeness for granted. My relationship with my sisters is probably the best it has been in years, I’m glad for that.

Gratitude – 4
My gratitude journal is still going. Every day I have something to be grateful for, and one month in to this project, the things are getting easier and easier to find every day. It doesn’t mean there aren’t things I’m NOT grateful for (if that makes any sense) it just means that I choose to let them go, and focus on the good. I think that over the year, this is going to help boost my Happiness number, too.

Health – 2
I think every woman, particularly mothers, struggle with their own health. We are usually too busy worrying about the health of those around us to care for ourselves. Since I had Nicklas, I have felt extra tired, extra sore, every little twinge I get I think it is cancer, I don’t feel like I have the “get up and go” energy I used to have. I know having kids makes you tired, but surely I am too young to feel this tired all the time? My health is really affected by stress, and it’s been a very long road, trying to teach myself, MAKE myself, NOT stress about things. I am slowly getting better about it, but still have a very long way to go. I need to eat better, I need to exercise more (ok, I need to exercise, period). I get a lot more “me” time than most mothers I know, so I’ve got that going for me. If you don’t have your health, you might as well have nothing. I really want to be healthy.

Relationship – 3
What relationship couldn’t use some attention? Some work? It takes effort, TLC, conscious thought. I’m not really a needy person, emotionally, physically, I can take care of myself just fine, and I think that might bother my husband a little bit. I think he’d like to be needed once in a while. I read a book, The 5 Languages of Love, and we are definitely speaking different languages. So it takes a conscious effort to make sure I try to talk to him in his language, and vice versa. I think for better or worse, relationships are always a work in progress.

This week Deb’s given us a week to catch our breath. It is appreciated, and greatly needed. The last 4 weeks have set the wheels in motion, and I’ve already learned a lot about myself, what I value, what I want, what is important. I can’t wait to see what the other 48 weeks teach me.

It’s not too late to join in with Deb and those of us participating in her 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life challenge. Join in where you want, catch up if you want, link up if you want, or don’t. At least read the challenges and give yourself some food for thought.

12 thoughts on “Week 4 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

  1. Great post ! I love when people can put into words where they are and where they want to be – you have a head start on those who have no idea !

    Keep it up and fingers crossed for a suitable job coming up soon !

    Lotsa hugs.
    Me

  2. I love your wheel. Your handwriting is lovely!

    I’m with you on happiness being a journey not a destination. I think having balance and being content with each area will lead to happiness. So much of life overlaps without realising it, I know for me sitting down and doing these exercises really opened my eyes to that.

    • Thanks Ames, but my handwriting drives me crazy! lol You’re right, there is a lot of overlapping in life and so much to be thankful for and happy about if you just choose to look for those things.

  3. I think your wheel looks fairly balanced and you seem like a person who knows where she wants to go. I am really looking forward to the next 48 weeks as well. I hope it helps you to balance your Wheel of Life exactly the way you want it 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m finally figuring out where I want to go, now just trying to figure out how to get there. I’m sure the next 48 weeks (47 after the break!) will help with that. I hope your WOL ends up how you want it, too. 🙂

  4. i am really inspired by how well your gratitude journal has been working for you! You are right tough, happiness is a journey and we absolutely have a choice as to what we are going to focus on… thank you for inspiring me x

    • Oh Thanks Lyndal, that means so much to me. I was inspired by others’ gratitude journals, so I’m glad that mine can have the safe effect! It’s a really good feeling to sit down and try to blog, but not know what to say because you feel at peace with everything and thankful for so much. It has made me feel much better, but probably killed my blog in the process lol

  5. Great that balance, home and gratitude came out so high for you- these are the things I need to work on!! Health as well {as you said, often the case for mums!}!

    I like what you said about relationships and how they could all use some work- that is definitely the case for me as well.

    I think I need to start a gratitude journal of some kind. I need the reminders that there is a lot of positives out there and things that I should be grateful for.

    Best of luck improving on the things you want to improve on!

    • Thanks Lulu! I highly recommend a gratitude journal. It helps to put things in perspective, and it helps to make you more positive when you might be feeling a bit negative. In say this, I keep falling a day behind and doing yesterday’s entries the next morning, oh well, as long as it is done I say! Best of luck to you improving your things also. And here’s hoping we can all get our “Health” up to a 5! Heck I’d be happy with a 4 at this point!! 🙂

  6. Great post – love your handwritten wheel – i agree with Ames about your handwriting. You are in a really good starting point- and I am with you on the health thing! It is wonderful that you are so happy with your home and content to stay with it rather than push for a house (i wish we had stayed in an apartment longer than we did)

    • Thanks Deb! Sad that we all see our health as being such an issue isn’t it? Wish I’d learned a long time ago to take better care of myself! As for being happy with our home, we learned our lesson the hard way in the US. we had a house there, in Georgia, and I almost regretted it from the day we moved in. It was a long commute to work, it was an older house and needed lots of work, we sold it for much less than we wanted…I’m just not in a hurry to get back into that market/game. We have it really good where we are right now, we rent from my mum, so it’s a bit cheaper and the money is staying in the family!

Leave a Reply

