The Interview

Why are interviews so stressful and nerve wracking? It is just 2 (or in this case 3) people sitting around talking about a job, what skills you have, trying to learn a bit more about you (and you about the job). But there’s so much pressure. Only there’s not, it’s only pressure you put on yourSELF. Oh how I wish I was a confident and assertive person. I can be. Almost any time except in interviews.

I should have just kept my mouth shut and not told anyone about the interview. When you don’t tell people, they can’t ask how you went, and you don’t have to say, “I blew it.”

I blew it.

I said “um” and “yeah” a lot and didn’t give very detailed answers to the questions. I had 5 minutes to think about the questions, they gave them to me when I got there, but it was not enough time. When have you showed initiative in your job? Why do you want this job? What experience do you have with databases? Mailing consent forms is a responsibility of the position, how would you manage that? How do you keep organised in a busy office environment? What do you think are important components of a client database? How do you like to be given direction from your manager? What was the biggest contribution you made to your previous workplace?

I have such fantastic answers for all of them. But they didn’t hear any of them. I froze.

“Do you have any questions for us?” I hate this one. I hate it, because once I’ve left I think of 10 questions, but on the spot I can’t think of one. I felt like it was rushed, like they’d have no idea who I was if they saw me again, like they didn’t ask any questions that really gave me an opportunity to talk and show who I am. Though I suppose they did, I just didn’t take them and turn the answer in to that.

They’ll make a decision by Friday, but I won’t expect a call, and I’ll try with all my might not to get my hopes up that maybe I did better than I am thinking. I’m sure someone went in there, knew exactly what they were talking about and blew them away.

So now I have the post-blown-interview blues. I need to snap out of it. It’s just that it is so hard to get an INTERVIEW let alone a JOB and I had my foot in the door, and I couldn’t fake it til I made it at all. I laid down and played dead. So now it’s back to the drawing board, trying to find something else that has perfect school-friendly hours with weekends off.

The positive? I have a job, so I’m not (yet) desperate for another. I guess that’s something to be thankful for.

9 thoughts on “The Interview

  1. Ohhh its such a hard thing to do – you put yourself there you should at least be proud of that!!! I HATE interviews and i pretty much do exactly what you did!!! It will be ok, if the job is meant for you, you will get it. If not, maybe something better will come along!!! Good luck and dont be too hard on yourself – just be proud that you made it there and took part!!!!!

    • Thanks Paul, that’s pretty much what my husband said too! The more I think about it, the more I think they already have someone for the job, just wanted to see if anyone better was around. It was a pretty impersonal interview.

  2. Totally agree with Paula. The job I am in now – it was down to two of us and they went with the other lady. I was devastated as I had sort of been told the job was mine. Then the week I should have started my Dad had to have surgery and I had to take time off work. The following month I got a call to ask if i was still interested in the job because the other lady hadn’t worked out. And here I am. Things will work out – they always do – it is just that right now it feels crap – and that is OK. The weather definitely isn’t helping – I know that from how I am feeling too.

    Lotsa hugs – chat to you later.
    Me

    • Oh wow, I’m glad things worked out for you 🙂 I know things always DO work out, I just feel like I had my chance to change my circumstances, which are getting me so frustrated, and I didn’t perform to the best of my ability. It’s very disappointing! Thanks Linda. xo

  3. Ugh. Been there.

    I’m sorry. Maybe for next time, you can find a list of tough interview questions online & have someone role play with you? It’s always when you’re expecting the tough questions they don’t ask you much of anything & when you’re not expecting them they pull the hardest ones out of the hat. 😛 I’m sorry. *hugs*

    • I thought I was fairly prepared, I know I had good answers for the questions, but when the time came my throat felt like it was closing and I had the worst dry mouth ever. So disappointing.

      • I know. 😦 I just thought maybe doing it multiple times would make it easier to roll off your tongue. Interviews suck. 😛 I’m sorry. *hugs*

  4. big hugs for you lovely… you’re absolutely allowed to feel disappointed and upset – just please don’t let yourself stay there and beat yourself up for too long. “Your” job is out there, and its waiting for the right time to show itself in your face, and its going to be all sorts of awesome, and in the meantime… I have never met one person who likes interviews, or feels like they have done well in an interview. its an extremely stressful unrealistic situation. So just know you aren’t alone, and you won’t always feel that you have done so horribly.

Leave a Reply

