I Have An Interview

I have a job interview tomorrow. The last time I had a real interview, where I applied for an advertised position and was called for an interview….might have been 2000? The jobs I’ve had since then, I have known someone who has got my foot in the door, so to speak. I’ve been a “shoe-in” and have not necessarily had to get the job solely on my merits or interview performance. It’s true, I’ve still had to meet with people, suffer through some standard interview questions, “play the game” if you will. But I’ve known someone who has vouched for me. This time, I am on my own.

I know I can do the work. I am educated, but also have common sense, I am friendly, but also hard working, I am punctual, I am reliable. I want to work, I want to be busy, I want to be challenged.

But I am nervous. In the past I have not been a good interviewee. I sweat, my voice trembles, I “um” a lot. I feel like in the last 18 months since my dad died I have really come a long way in knowing who I am, what I stand for, what I want, and I.Want.This.Job. So I am preparing, I have printed the job description, information about the organisation, and I am about to sit and think about some question/answers that I might get tomorrow. I am also going to try and think of some questions I could ask them.

I am going to be confident in who I am, my capabilities and my appearance (my sister helped me pick a new, killer outfit for the interview). I am going to speak clearly, concisely and honestly. As honestly as possible when trying to procure a job, anyway! And I will play the game. I will fake it til I make it if I have to.

Feel free to comment and let me know what kinds of questions you have asked or been asked during an interview, or any other interview tips you may have up your sleeve! I’ll take all the help I can get!

Linking up with Jess at Diary of a Stay At Home Mum for IBOT

20 thoughts on “I Have An Interview

  1. I am sure you will kill it – not because you are a lovely funny lady but because your preparation has been so good. Most people go to an interview on a wing and a prayer (I’ve been on the receiving end of candidates who don’t even know what the company does when they come for an interview). I am positive it will all go well – will be watching for a tweet tomorrow to see how it went.

    Lotsa love, hugs and positive energy and HUGE best wishes for tomorrow.
    Me

    • Hard to respond to these knowing the outcome of the interview! Haha! Ahhh, such HOPE was had…thanks for the support πŸ™‚

  2. I remember my very first job interview a few months back. I had a little idea of how a ‘real’ interview works, but I had just been myself. It was kinda weird because I was not nervous at all, the opposite of what I was expecting. And so it went well, and I got the job!

    Best luck on yours! You’ll nail it! πŸ™‚

    • I was trying everything to make myself NOT nervous that maybe in turn I ended up MORE nervous? Well done on landing a job on your first interview! Impressive!

  3. What Linda said…! SO many people don’t prepare or research the company…
    plus – its hard to know what sort of questions they would ask not knowing the industry, but always be prepared for the situational questions (like tell us about a time when…what would you do if xyz was happening/happened) and also where you want to be in five years…
    Honestly though, you know who you are, you know why you want the job, you have a gorgeous outfit. Just go in there and be yourself. Breathe. Hold your hands together tightly in your lap if you shake (i sure do!) take a second and a big breath before you answer questions, its okay to paraphrase and repeat back if you get lost or need to ground yourself.
    Most of all breathe.
    xx

    • Thank you for the tip – my hands were together, in my lap, the whole time. which is good, because I *am* a fidgeter! I think I forgot to breathe though! Oh well, maybe next time!

  4. I understand your trepidation. The thought of job seeking and interviews brings up all sorts of emotions and memories for me. It’s something that’s been on my mind recently too.

    I’ve been in the same office and almost the same role for just over 10 years (though it has evolved as the program I manage has grown 10 fold). The few times I’ve gone for interviews, in the past few years I’ve been unsuccessful. I comforted myself with the fact that I got called for the interviews. I just wasn’t able to clinch it.

    I did go for two interviews for the same job twice, a job I had been doing on secondment for two years, but was unsuccessful. It was very disappointing at the time but knowing the place, the people, the management and those who eventually got the job, I realised that while I was deemed good enough to fill in, they were looking for something specifically different in the permanent placement. Both appointments didn’t run smoothly in the end but that’s how things go sometimes.

    I think all you can do is your best, prepare your best, and if the job description lists selection criteria for the role eg: excellent organisation skills, try and prepare answers to address the criteria.

    Good luck with it all.

    • You were pretty spot on – they did ask a lot of technical questions to support the listed criteria. It was actually a pretty impersonal interview, but lots of “what experience do you have with this, what have you done with this” etc. Frustrating, I feel like they didn’t see “me” at all.

  5. I havent been for an interview since 2006. Id be exactly the same. So i probably wont be much help with interview questions. I know they always ask why did u or are you leaving your last job? Goodluck, hope you get it xx

    • They never asked that! They asked about job satisfaction and why I want the job, and what my biggest contribution to my last workplace was. Blah!

  6. I can’t help you here, having never had a ‘real’ job. But you sound like you are in right frame of mind, an I’m mure you will do fabulously! Can’t wait to hear how it went. πŸ™‚

    • I was in the right frame of mind right until I walked into the office for the interview! D’oh! It was a great big flop, basically! Thanks for the support Jess.

  7. I think you sound well prepared for your interview, I hope that it all goes well and you trust your own abilities enough for them to shine through. Its always daunting to feel like you are being tested, Good luck!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I wish I could say it went better. It all went so quick and I felt like I just blurted out stupid responses to their questions then smiled and said Thank you and walked out! Such an idiot! Oh well…what can ya do, try harder next time I guess.

    • Thanks Misha! It was SO nerve wracking. I think I wanted it so badly I ended up flubbing all my lines. Ah well. The good thing is I still have my current job. If I was desperate I’d probably be even more of a mess in interviews!

    • Thanks Seeking. Just catching up with comments, hard to do when I already know the outcome was awful! haha! Thank you for your support anyway πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

