Things I Know – The Job Hunt Edition

No one likes to do it, no one can really escape it. It’s easier for some than others, for more reasons than I could possibly list in one blog post. It’s scary, it’s daunting, it’s competitive, and the older you get, the harder it is.

Job hunting. The dreaded job search. I’d rather a root canal. Or 12.

Things I Know About Job Hunting:

You have to put in 100 applications to receive 1 response, and that still doesn’t mean you’ll get an interview.

Source: google.com via Sharon on Pinterest

 

Employers receive over 500 applications for advertised jobs (ok, so I know for sure of 2 employers who had that many, can’t really speak to the rest).

Unemployment on the Gold Coast is through the roof. I should feel lucky to have my job.

But I want better hours. School hours. So do the other 80,000 mothers on the Gold Coast.

Everyone puts the same crap in their cover letters, you need to be a bit different (in a creative way, not a straight-jacket way) to get noticed.

It’s WHO you know, it’s always who you know. What you know has very little to do with it. Email your friends, make a facebook announcement. Contact everyone you know, and put the word out that you’re looking for a job.

If you do get an interview, you never have anything to wear.

Source: polyvore.com via Amanda on Pinterest

Just keep applying. The more you apply for, the better your chance of getting one. Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while.

Playing Things I Know with Kelly @ The Good, The Bad & The Unnecessary

6 thoughts on “Things I Know – The Job Hunt Edition

  1. Hi there – found your blog through Kellie. I also live on the Gold Coast – what sort of job are you looking for and what can you do ? I sometimes hear of things coming up or people looking for someone and would be happy to let you know. Have you registered with any employment agents – that is worth doing if you haven’t done so yet. The thing with them is that you really need to go in and meet them so that they know you and when a resource request comes in, they remember you and will contact you otherwise you are just another candidate in their files.
    Good luck and, as I said, if I can help in any way – just yell out.
    Love, hugs and positive energy
    Me

    • Thanks Linda, that is so nice of you! I’m looking for office admin work mostly. I used to run a medium sized not-for-profit in the US, but since moving back home to Aus have worked mostly at golf courses. I haven’t done the employment agencies yet mostly b/c I don’t mind my job, the hours just aren’t very family friendly. So I guess I’ve been holding out for something else to pop up but haven’t been desperate yet. There’s slowly getting to be more jobs on seek, I’ve applied for 5 recently, so I will keep searching.

  2. i work in this field – just in sydney, and west sydney at that (ha ha) keep in mind that it is the WORST time of the year to be looking for new work, most companies are running at 50% capacity through Jan, and only start to pick up/advertise through Feb, which is when everyone who made it their new years resolution to get out of existing crap job is job hunting also phewf!
    My point is…hang in there. Hang in there as best you can. Don’t compromise. Because I guarantee you that if nothing happens in Jan / Feb that really sits well with you, it will definitely in the months after
    x
    (but i do hope my heart out for you that the universe has something for you, like yesterday)

    • Thanks Lyndal, that is encouraging! I have noticed there are more jobs now than there were a month ago, which I expected things to start picking up more in Jan/Feb, so I will just do my daily search and applications, and be persistent. I’m not in a HUGE rush or really desperate to move jobs just yet, but I’d like to.

Leave a Reply

