Week 2 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

Last week Deb at Home Life Simplified kicked off her 52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life challenge. The first challenge was to talk about “What Went Right” in 2011, a challenge I wasn’t sure I would be able to meet. Surprisingly, once I got started, there were more good things in 2011 than I was remembering.

So now we are on to week 2, and we are talking about values.

Week #2 Challenge: Define Your Personal Values

I needed some prompting with this one, again not sure where to start. I’m beginning to think I may start every week like that. So I thought I’d start simply by figuring out what is important to me, some of which I already do well, some of which I’d like to work on.

Honesty must be very important to me, as it’s ended up on the list twice. Narrowing the list down proved a bit tougher.

It’s funny, the way your values change the older you get. 10 years ago I think this list would have been very different.

From here, I thought long and hard about which ones I could NOT cross off the list and I’m certain these are my top 5:

1. Family: This one will always come first. Husband, son, mum, sisters, I would go to the ends of the earth for them if they needed me to. That’s not to say we haven’t had our problems, we have, and I think those problems are what made me realise the importance of family. I haven’t always given them the best of me, and they deserve that, surely. At the end of the day you can’t change your family, and when shit hits the fan, or tragedy strikes, family are the ones who will pick you up, dust you off and have your back.

Source: Pinterest

2. Happiness: I’ve spent far too much time wallowing in misery, feeling sorry for myself, months of undiagnosed post-partum depression, and enough is enough. I choose happiness. I choose to do things because they bring me joy. It’s so much more pleasant, and it makes others like you more, too!

Source: Pinterest

3. Balance: I’ve done the work-60-hours-a-week thing, I’ve done the stay-at-home-mum thing, and neither of them are for me. I much prefer a balance of work-home. My husband and I particularly like Australia for it’s “work to live” lifestyle as opposed to the US’s “live to work” stigma. Life is so short, that’s the main lesson I’ve really taken in over the last 18 months. Don’t waste it working. And don’t waste it being miserable.

 

4. Gratitude: As I blogged about yesterday, gratitude has already had such a  positive impact on my attitude, just 10 days into my 366 Gratitude Journal. Aside from changing your attitude, your frame of mind, your general outlook on life, it’s just downright nice to think happy, thankful thoughts.

 

5. Security: This is really a loaded word and can be taken in different contexts. I mean it in all of them. Financial security, job security, personal security, relationship security, parenthood security. I want to be secure in my words, actions, beliefs, who I am, how I look, what I do and the choices I make. I know there will be times I will question these things, I will stumble along the way, but how I react to these stumbles will define me and what I’ve learned.

 

The words I had the hardest time leaving of the list, friendship, courage, faith, confidence, all run a very close tie for 6th. All things I value, and perhaps don’t work hard enough on, but I like to think that if I can get the top 5 right, then these will fall in to place.

It’s not too late to join in with Deb and those of us participating in her 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life challenge. Join in where you want, catch up if you want, link up if you want, or don’t. At least read the challenges and give yourself some food for thought.

12 thoughts on “Week 2 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

  1. Great list, I love that you put family first (ditto!). I also love that you ‘choose’ happiness, good on you.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts in the SYL12 challenge.

    • I think I’m going to make a pin for “I choose happiness” and then print it and put it on the wall. It is a conscious choice, not something that comes naturally (to me anyway). Thanks for your comment. 🙂

    • This is a huge step for me, I always worry about everything working out, but it always does, and if you are true to yourself, and your values, then everything WILL fall in to place how it is supposed to….I hope. 😉 haha

  2. i love how passionate you are about gratitude!
    It makes me curiouser and curiouser every time i see that word to do a little bit more digging to find out for myself 🙂

    • Do it! you won’t regret it! There is SO.MUCH to be thankful for. Even on days I don’t particularly feel overly happy or that there is anything to be thankful for, I go back to the basics, family, health, roof over head and food on plate, and that is enough to make things not look so bad.

  3. Happiness is most certainly something we choose. And interestingly although honesty made it twice to your initial list, is isn’t in the top 5. I agree though, If you can get your first 5 ducks in a row, the rest will follow. I didn’t get security onto my top list but I feel it, I crave it. I look forward to reading your mission statement next week,
    Hugs

    • Thanks Lisa, I’m dreading writing my mission statement lol. I know honesty popped up twice in the draft, and I think I purposely left it off the list because if I’m going to value honesty, then I have to be honest with myself, and I’m not ready to get that raw and tough on myself! How’s that for some honest? haha

  4. Wonderful list – I absolutely love your take on security – you have expressed the fullness of the word beyond just stability. Thanks as well for the very good mention at the bottom about the challenge – i truly hope people will join in whenever it hits them that they want to. they can be playing along at home and do the work privately if they want.

    • Thanks Deb! Hope these weekly challenges will get easier at some point. Totally stumped on this week’s! But hopeful that tomorrow hubby and I can talk about it because we’re off to see Thomas the Tank Engine, an hour away from us, so lots of car time for talk. He’ll be thrilled. HA!

  5. Love how you pinpointed your initial values and then narrowed them down as those you feel you have and those to work on. I went more with my gut but that’s a very useful way of looking at things.

    • Thanks Veronica, I am a list person, so it’s good for me to get things down and then re-evaluate! It usually works, anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

