Gratitude Week 1. I Am Changed

I’m 1 week in to my 366 Gratitude Journal, and while I didn’t post yesterday’s gratitude yet, it doesn’t mean I didn’t feel it. I will catch up tonight with yesterday’s and today’s.

This morning, I had an “ah-ha!” kind of moment. A light bulb moment, if you will. My husband, son and I went to a local surf club for breakfast. My husband is still on holidays and doesn’t go back until next Monday. We hadn’t been to this surf club before, and it did not disappoint! The view was spectacular and food amazing (my stomach is rumbling just remembering it).

The view from our table

During breakfast I said, “It makes it easier to go to work this afternoon after spending the morning like this.” Watching the waves crash on the rocks, a hot coffee in my hands, planes flying by (which wasn’t nearly as obnoxious as you would think. In 1 hour we saw 3), my family there with me, it was relaxing and peaceful.

After breakfast we went for a walk (hubby and I walked, Nick ran, and occasionally we ran to catch up to him!) along the beach, and splashed in the shallow water, enjoying the perfect weather. I wished we had taken our swimsuits and towels, a quick swim would have been a perfect way to end the visit.

Breakfast was under the umbrellas

On the way home, my husband said, “I wish you didn’t have to go to work this afternoon.” The old me would have responded, “Me too. What a pain in the arse. I hate it.”

The new me, the grateful me, thought, “Eh, it’s not so bad, I’ve had an awesome morning!” I was feeling refreshed, my emotional bank account topped up a bit. I was ready to go to work with a clearer mind and heart. These few hours of contentment, joy, peace, are what it is all about. Making sure you have more of these moments that fill you up, make you ready to face the rest of your responsibilities and chores, like work.

I didn’t really understand how gratitude was going to change me until it slapped me in the face today. And it’s only been a week. I think I may have just found the secret to life.

Sharing today with Jess at Diary of a Stay At Home Mum for IBOT

10 thoughts on “Gratitude Week 1. I Am Changed

    • I wish we could! It is nice while hubby is still on holidays, but when he goes back to work, and while I’m working, it’s going to be hard. That said, I’m working my last Saturday this week and then I’m off the roster for Saturdays, so that gives us 1 day a week to do things like this. Will definitely make the most of it!

    • It was such a perfect morning! And it is definitely a light and relaxing feeling to be thankful for the good rather than whinging about the bad. Why don’t more people know about this!?!?

  1. Would you believe that I actually talked to my 8 year old daughter about this today… and she went to her room and wrote a list of things she was grateful for. I was astounded! And she was in a better mood all afternoon. Such a simple concept yet so powerful.

    • Oh good for you! I wish my mum had talked to me about it when I was 8! What a great lesson for her to learn so young. It’s taken me 33 years! 😉 I might start talking to my 3.5 year old about it. He can’t write a list, but we can talk about what we are thankful for and what awesome things we have in our lives.

  2. Gratitude is such a powerful thing. It’s one of the reasons why I started doing a thankful Thursdays with Kate, because it changed how I looked at the world. I spent the week looking for positive things so that I could blog them.
    I have heard a little about this project 366. It sounds fantastic!

    • Thankful Thursdays with Kate got me started, too! Then a couple of friends said they were “journaling” (as in paper journals!) about gratitude, and positivity and affirmations and the more I started reading about it the more it made sense. Now it is clear as day! I love paper journals but can’t keep up, so I’m doing mine online at http://coloursofsunset.posterous.com/

  3. Lovely post. I’m not quite game to do a 366 days of gratitude but I am going to try and do the 52 Weeks of Grateful with Maxabella Loves over at Kidspot! Though I’m already a week behind (oh well). I believe it’s a powerful attitude to develop too. Gratitude is definitely on my list of focus words/themes for 2012.

  4. You sound so peaceful! What a beautiful morning. I often find that if I get some time to myself, every day, facing things like the dishes and the mountains of washing and the nappies and the toilet training don’t seem so bad. What a difference after just a week!

Leave a Reply

