Week 1 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

I knew the post would be coming, but when I saw it in Google Reader my pulse quickened a bit. It’s one thing to commit to a 52 week challenge at the end of the year when life feels crazy and you are in full fledged Silly Season Spirit, feeling like you could take on the world, especially if it means getting some order in your life. It’s another to sit in the post-holiday come-down and actually put fingers-to-keyboard and get real, honest, and open with yourself. So here we are. At the start of Deb’s 52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life Challenge.

Week #1 Challenge: Create A List of Everything That Went “Right” in 2011

Even with the helpful questions to get me started, I have been sitting here racking my brain. I feel like if I knew the answer to this question, I might not be so insistent upon participating in a 52 week challenge to simplify and improve my life.

Perhaps that is a good start to answering the question. In 2011 I became more self-aware. I learned tough life lessons, like life is short, and time flies. It’s too short to be miserable. Too short to not make a difference. Too short to not be getting the absolute most out of life.  Too short to not take the time to figure out what is important to you and to do it. But how do you do that? I’m hoping this challenge will help with that. Time flies, and you don’t get it back. 

The best times I had in 2011 were with family and friends. I have great memories of a weekend away with my husband, a few days away to a beach house with family, a few days away to Sydney to see friends. These were the times I felt the most relaxed, refreshed, the happiest. I need to ensure there are more of these times in 2012.

In 2011 I became more of a regular blogger, I started reaching out to other bloggers and finding myself on the perimeter of an ever-growing blogging community. The support, advice, encouragement and just general camaraderie that exists among bloggers (especially “mummy bloggers”, for lack of better label!) is amazing. This is something I want to focus more on in 2012.

I learned that my love for photography is not gone. In my dreams I win the lottery and buy my entire wish list of photography equipment and studio. I love to capture memories, mine and other peoples’. I love to give people precious gifts of moments in time that years from now, they will remember, because of a photo I took. I also learned that instead of this being a dream, it is up to me to take steps to make it become a reality, without relying on my 0.00000001% chance of winning lotto.

I started to change my attitude. I began to become more aware of the effects of negativity, and how people, and the universe, respond so much better to positiveness. I started to force myself to think before responding and to shelve those knee-jerk reactions where you always say or do something you later wished you hadn’t. I learned to pick my battles and to think about the consequences of my words and actions further down the line.

I accepted that relationships take a lot of work, a lot of give and take, a lot of picking your battles, a lot of forgiveness and a lot of love, caring and kindness. I can’t expect to ignore my marriage and trust that it will just be there, that it will grow and nurture itself. My husband and my marriage deserve, and need, as much of my time and effort as anything else in my life, if not more.

I feel like the real me, a better me, is just around the corner, waiting. She already knows she can do anything and everything she puts her mind to, all I need to do is turn the corner and see her. Become her.

If your life could use simplifying. If you want to be challenged to open your mind, open your heart, and get downright honest with yourself about your life, head over to Deb’s amazing blog, and participate in this challenge. What do you have to lose? Nothing. But you have everything to gain.

11 thoughts on “Week 1 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

  1. Fantastic first post! I am so happy you are joining in. You have touched on a lot through this self reflection. You tapped into a key reason why I asked everyone to do this (beyond the positivity focus to start as we mean to go: “I need to ensure there are more of these times in 2012.” – this will be a key in the coming weeks as we tap into our values, goals and priorities. You are already doing some work here…

  2. i really like the points you made about attitude, and accepting relationships take work. Changing your attitude is one of the hardest things to do – not many people aside from yourself really even notice, but you definitely feel so much lighter for it

    • thanks lyndal! it is very hard to change your attitude and way of thinking. it takes a conscious effort 100% of the time! but you are right, you feel so much better for it, it is so worth it!

  3. I could relate to what you said about thinking before responding – that’s something I learned a bit about last year too. I’ve always been one to speak first in the heat of the moment and regret it later.

    A better you, just around the corner – that’s exciting!

    • It’s a pretty rotten feeling, isn’t it? That instant after where you just feel like crap. Most of the time it’s with my husband and son that I fly off the handle and then feel so bad for doing it. If something upsets me, I try to count to 10 before responding, I’m almost always calmed back down by then and my reaction is much better!

  4. What a year 2011 sounds for you! So many personal revelations. Hopefully 2012 will continue growing on them. Can’t wait to join you on your journey!

  5. I found this first post tough too. Which is why I jumped in so late. I’m sure I’ll finds one of the future posts challenging as well, but that’s all the more reason to work it through. I can relate to two of your positives in 2011 as well; blogging and photography, especially photography. Look forward to reading more of your SYL journey in 2012.

Leave a Reply

