Thankful Thursday : The Last One for 2011

Its the last Thankful Thursday of the year, head on over to Kate Says Stuff and join in, won’t you?

There have been Thursdays that I have sat and stared at the computer, stared at the keyboard, and wondered what on earth I could possibly find to be grateful for. It’s been a rollercoaster of a year, some weeks I’ve thought there was nothing I had to be happy or thankful about, it all just seemed too hard.

But then I’ve gone back to basics. Before I started participating in Thankful Thursday, I couldn’t have done that. I got so caught up in my own misery I was blind to the things I have been so blessed with.

A beautiful, happy, healthy little boy. I joke, when people ask when we are having anther child, that we got it right the first time, we don’t need another. But there’s a big part of that that is not a joke. He is kind, smart, cheeky, and just fantastic (the 98% of the time when he’s not driving us crazy). We would love another child, but if that doesn’t happen we are still the luckiest parents in the world.

A husband, who for as much as he makes my head want to explode at times, does so much for me and Nick. I feel sorry for wives and kids who have husbands and fathers who aren’t helpful, who don’t help around the house, who don’t spend one-on-one time with their kids and wouldn’t know what to do with them for an afternoon or a wholel day if they had to. My husband is one of the most hands-on dads I know.

My mum, who is our most reliable baby sitter, and who, even though I am in my 30s, still thinks I need looking after because my husband is out of town.

Family and friends who are there when I need them and even when I don’t, no matter how far across the world they are or how long it has been since I’ve seen them.

I’m thankful for this “me time” I’m getting while the husband is away, visiting his family. I think in 2012 I need to do more for me. It is nice to just sit, do what I want, after Nick is asleep and not feel guilty because I should be paying attention to M. Parenting is hard, but I know that I have it fairly easy, having only one child who is already 3.5 years old and a very easy kid. While I would love another bub, I am also very aware and very thankful for the benefits of only having one. Including all the “me time” I get.

For my job, which drives me crazy most days, but allows us to afford our little luxuries, like alcohol, the occasional movie or dinner night out, and our new car. There was a time not so long ago that $10 for a bottle of wine could not be found.

Finally, I am grateful that the calendar is about to tick over to a new year. A year that holds so much hope, possibility, and the chance to start over. I want to be happy, and healthy. I want to be self-aware and self-loving. I want to be proud of who I am and what I do. And I want to continue to watch my little boy grow in leaps and bounds as we get him ready to go to big school! Where has the time gone?

What have you been thankful for?

9 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday : The Last One for 2011

    • Aargh hit send too soon!!

      A few years ago we had a long ‘cheese on toast’ spell. A good couple of years long. I can’t ever take for granted the fact that for now we are comfortable. Huge thing to be thankful for.

      • Should have also mentioned being Thankful for your Thankful Thursday, Kate. It’s really made me realise how important it really is to be give thanks, even if it is just for the little things. I’m doing a 366-day gratitude journal in 2012 on tumblr. If I thought it was hard to come up with something every Thursday I might struggle doing every day!

  1. Oh, I love this post!

    Those difficult times really do make you appreciate the good and comfortable times. I’m glad you manage to see past the misery each week, to find those lovely moments worth celebrating.

    I’m looking forward to a fresh new year too. Enjoy!

    • Thanks Jess! Hope all your wishes come true in 2012 too! I got 18 bottles of wine from Greysonline yesterday which made me remembe the times when wine was a special treat! 😉

    • It’s easy when we become wives and mothers to forget that we must also be ourselves, and that to be the best wife and mother we can, we must also nurture ourselves.

Leave a Reply

