Letters To Nicklas : The First One Ever

March 13, 2008

Dear Nicklas,

I can’t believe I’m already 25 weeks pregnant with you. It seems like days ago that your dad and I even found out about you. I am sure by the time you read this you’ll have heard that story 100 times. But in case you haven’t heard it yet, we were on a 25 day trip through Europe. We wanted to see a little bit of the world before we moved from the US to Australia. our move to Australia was planned so that we could start a family and be near my mum, your nanna (who is so excited about your arrival!) and the rest of my family. Little did we know, you were already on your way! On our 4th or 5th day in Rome, I was absolutely exhausted. We started talking about “What if I’m pregnant?” but I didn’t have any other tell-tale signs of a pregnancy. The next day, in the Roma train station, we picked up a pregnancy test that was written all in Italian! We figured out that “Positivio” meant positive and “Negativo” was negative (you have very brilliant parents in case you’re wondering). Low and behold, the test came back Positivo! Rome will always have a special place in our hearts.

There are so many things I’ve thought about over the last few months – What will you look like, what colour will your hair be, and your eyes? How much will you weigh? What will your first word be? Will you be a happy baby? Will you look like your dad? Will you be healthy? I’m not a big believer in “God” but I hope to God you are healthy. That is all any parent can ask for. I wonder if you will be tall, if you will love math and science like your dad, or English and writing like me. I wonder what your first girlfriend will be like, what your life will be like. I hope that your dad and I can show you what a loving relationship is supposed to be like.

There are so many things I hope for you, that I hope you will grow up to be. Respectful, smart, witty & funny, loyal, honest, humble, thoughtful, confident…I realise it’s our responsibility to install all that in you, and to teach you how to be all those things. I want you to believe in yourself, and to believe in others. I want you to love animals and have a tender heart, but to also be strong. Mostly, I want you to be happy, and to learn from every experience you can.

As I sit here writing this I can feel you moving around and it is such a strange but wonderful feeling to know you’re in there, growing and developing. Your dad and I are so excited to meet you and to show you things, teach you things. And we know that you will teach us a lot, too. Everyone is excited about your arrival. You are already spoiled – you should see all the things we have for you!

I hope you always know how much we have loved you from the second we found out you were on your way.

I love you forever,
Mum

2 thoughts on “Letters To Nicklas : The First One Ever

Leave a Reply

