Thankful Thursday – Looking Forwards

For a while there, we seemed to have something massive happen every year – we got married in 2006, went to Europe for 3 weeks and moved to the other side of the world in 2007, had a baby in 2008, took a month-long holiday to the States in 2009, my dad died in 2010…it was a busy few years to say the least.

I am thankful 2011 has been relatively uneventful (knock on wood, as I know it’s not over yet!). It’s sort of been nice to not have anything major happen. A bit boring, but still “nice”. 2012 has the potential for massive upheaval. And that’s all I can or will say at this point in time. Within the next couple of months we should know just how much of an upheaval I’m talking about. Or, it could turn out to be another quiet, boring year. Anything and everything is possible. And while I’m not much of a “new years resolutions” type of person, I have been thinking a lot about January 1. About 2012. About a new start. What is important to me? What do I want to happen, and how will I make it so?

What have I done too much of, or not enough of, this year that has shaped the person I am?

I’m going to have some soul searching to do over the next couple of weeks, so I’m scouring the net and blogs looking for motivational and inspiration quotes, questions, insights. I’ll definitely be hooking up with Deb at Home Life Simplified for her 52 Week Challenge.

I’ll also be playing along, in January, with Chantelle at Fat Mum Slim for her January Photography Challenge (yes, I took a pic of my computer screen, click on it, it’s linked to Fat Mum Slim!).

I also desperately need to sit down and think about what things I want for my marriage, and my role as a wife, for my relationship with my son and my role as a mother, for my friendships, which ones are true, invaluable, which ones are superficial and past their prime, and most importantly, what things I want for my health and happiness.

Sounds like I’ve got a busy week ahead of me, thinking about all this stuff. Best I get Christmas dinner for 11 adults and 1 child out of the way, first! I am thankful to be surrounded by family at this time of year and refuse to let the stress of such a large dinner party get to me. The food will all fall in to place, but being together is the most important thing.Β I’m also thankful for the ever-growing web (excuse the pun) of amazing blogging women who give me things to laugh about, cry about and think about every day. It’s so great to connect with women all over the world who have walked in my shoes, or who empathise and encourage each other. I’m really looking forward to 2012.

10 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – Looking Forwards

    • I very much hope you get your boring 2012, Kate. If not boring, then only positive steps in the right direction to helping manage diagnoses. xox

    • Often I think my answer to that would be a resounding “YES! YES! YES!” Tell me everything! But I’ve seen enough movies to know the consequences of knowing what the future holds! haha. I think the best we can hope for is to think about what we want, set goals to get it, and be ok with the outcome, whatever that may be.

  1. I love writing new year goals. I love ‘turning over a new leaf’ and all of that. It does feel like a fresh start.

    I hope the impending upheaval brings lots of joy and adventure.

    I might just pop over to fatmumslim too, I love her photo challenges!

    • it certainly has the potential to bring lots of joy and adventure! Time will tell! In the past I’ve not really seen the new year as a fresh start, but just another day. This year it just “feels” different and I can’t explain why. It just seems filled with HOPE.

Leave a Reply

