Thankful Thursday

As the doctor sat down, I said, “I’m not sure what I want you to say right now, that something is wrong, or nothing is wrong. I’m not sure what would be worse.” He said, “Nothing is wrong.”

In fact, he said our numbers were great. I produce more than enough oestrogen, my husband has, as Jeff Bingham calls it, supersperm (which is significantly different to supers perm which is what my iMac wants to keep correcting to).

The verdict? Keep trying and come back in 6 months, “Or sooner if it’s driving you crazy and you want to.” Driving me crazy? Doc, I have been a permanent resident of crazy for years  now, but thanks.

He said the next step is a laparoscopy to check my fallopian tubes and for endometriosis. At this point I mentioned the naturopath I’ve been to. He shuddered. I said she had mentioned a slight detection of endometriosis. He said, “What, in your chakras?” I laughed, because he’s a nice man, and it was kind of funny. That aside, I do believe in naturopaths and alternate therapy, so I think a trip to the acupuncturist might be in store. Needles don’t necessarily bother me, but ask me again when I have 50 of them sticking out of my uterus.

The bottom line is that everything should be good. I know that plenty of infertility is “unexplained” and that doesn’t necessarily make me feel any better, but I suppose it is good in that it doesn’t mean any further poking/prodding or expensive treatment (see: IVF) just yet. There’s still hope.

So today I am thankful for hope. I am thankful that, technically, nothing is wrong. And I am thankful that we looked into this before December 31 and got 98% of our money back for the last 2 OB visits plus sperm analysis (Thank you medicare safety net). And I’m thankful for a nice doctor who made me laugh when really, all I have wanted to do is cry.

Linking up with Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday!

14 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

    • Just have to hope I get pregnant before my next appointment where there’ll be talk about laparoscopies and God-knows-what-else!

  1. Well thank God that everything is medically fine.
    I’m sure things will happen in the right time, which I know sounds very cliched, but I don’t mean it that way at all, and I’m not making light of your situation. I just believe there is a time for these things, and when the time comes, it seems to make sense somehow.

    And yes, thank God for the Medicare Safety net! 🙂

    • I keep trying to tell myself that. I wish I could just erase any thought of it from my mind, it might help! I hope mother time knows I’m only giving her 2 more years before I’m done.

    • Thank you Jayne. Surprisingly it wasn’t that hard to be positive about it. I had expected to come out of his office crushed. But the truth is, there was no “bad” news and even though it is a bit frustrating, and I keep thinking, “Why is nothing happening?” things could be much worse, right?

  2. Just visiting from KateSaysStuff. I struggled for over a year to get pregnant for no real reason. It was heartbreaking at the time but I think I’ve grown to realize that timing is everything and sometimes later really is better. You might be interested in visiting Julia at the Black Tag Diaries (http://blacktagdiaries.blogspot.com/). She’s currently blogging about her difficulty conceiving (see her Dear Diary posts). She also has a Thankful Thursday link up.

    • Thanks for that link, I have just checked her out. It was a bit uncanny, so much about her could be written about me, and her words really resonate. Thanks for sharing. My husband and I have always been “if it’s meant to be it will be” people. So just need to be patient (which is hard for us!).

  3. i’m so glad you stopped by my blog! i think i needed to read this post today. and i saw that dawn already directed you to my own “dear diary” segments, where i recently wrote about my own struggle to conceive… it’s strangely comforting to know that i’m not alone when i read about other people’s stories. i’m currently in that weird battle of “do i make an appointment or do i keep waiting?” it’s like you want to know if you should be doing anything different… but then there’s this strange fear of there being something wrong. thanks so much for sharing your story and your recent experience… it may have been just what i needed to pick up the phone and make that 2nd appointment…

    • I was putting off seeing the doctor until a friend asked me what I was waiting for. I know you don’t want to hear that something is wrong, or you think “I’ll just give it another month” but I def say make the phone call. Even if nothing is wrong, at least you know your efforts aren’t for nothing and you just have to keep trying, and if something is wrong, then you can take steps to give the process some help. It’s hard when people are asking you when you’re going to have kids (or in our case “when will Nick have a baby brother or sister?”) and trying to conceive can really get in your head. It took 18 months for me to fall with Nick after going off the pill. Now my last depo shot was 3 years ago. It is nice to connect with others having the same thoughts and same issues, as people who have never had problems with fertility just don’t get it. And yes, pregnant ladies and babies everywhere here too!

Leave a Reply

