Do What You Love. JUST SHUT UP AND DO IT!

My husband and I have always tried to be the kind of people who, if they didn’t like something, they changed it. We have known the kind of people who whinge but don’t do anything about it, who talk about doing something constantly, but never do it. And we have strived (striven?) to not be Those People.

When my husband was unhappy at his job, he found a new one. He’s done that twice. When we thought we would be unhappy in Atlanta with children, since we had no family and no friends with children nearby, we moved to the other side of the world. Maybe that was a little drastic, but it was what we wanted to do, what we talked about doing, so we did it.

My husband decided he couldn’t do what he does forever, so he’s taken steps to switching careers. I hope beyond hope that SOON he will hear word as to whether or not he’s been accepted.

I’m getting to a point here. I swear.

The thing is, since having Nick, I feel like I’ve become lost. I don’t know what I want to do. Well, I do. My top 2 choices are Rock Star and Photographer. The problem with these is that I am pretty tone deaf. I love singing in my car and in the shower, and hey, it sounds in tune to me, but I am sure it is so.far.off. And I’d get stage fright and forget the words. And reality check, I’m way too old to be a rock star now!

But I’m not too old to be a photographer. I’m just too poor. To get the equipment I would want (need!), go to the workshops I’d want to go to, I’d need at least $10,000 to get started. We just don’t have that kind of money and frankly, I’m not sure we ever will. Plus photography is such a hard gig to crack in to. It all sounds like excuses, probably, but I’ve thought about it a lot, and just can’t figure out how to Make It Happen. It is the one thing I love to do. Well, actually I’m a nervous wreck while doing it, but I love looking at the pics on my computer, editing them and seeing the smiles, the love, the memories that I’ve captured for people forever. I love seeing how far I’ve come from the first photos I started taking, to the ones I take now*, and I can only imagine how much better ones I could take with some practice, some better equipment and a little bit of guidance from others who have been down this same path.

I think I have the eye for it. I think I have the patience for it. I think I could be great at it. I know I have the love for it. I just need a plan, I need help, I need to really figure out HOW to MAKE IT HAPPEN. My goal for 2012 will be to figure it out. My biggest fear is making it happen and ending up hating it because it’s no longer a hobby but a J-O-B and I’ll quit it before I even make back all the money I’ve just spent on getting started.

Hopefully my husband’s goals will all be realised SOON and then I can turn my focus to mine. It seems like our lives have been put on hold, waiting for his career change to happen. Talk about having to jump through hoops.

So that I can link up to with two blogs, I’m now going to list the top 10 things I would buy/do first if I had the money to put my photography dream in motion.

1. Canon EOS 5D Mark ii – $2000

2. EF 8-15 f/4L Fisheye Lens – $1600

3. EF 50mm f/1.2 Lens – $1600

4. EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM lens – $2700

5. EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM Lens – $1400

6. Lens hoods for some or all above mentioned lenses

7. Kick arse bag to hold my precious (and expensive) camera and lenses

8. Various lighting aides, like reflectors, off-camera flashes, etc.

9. Sheye Rosemeyers Evolve workshop

10. Mihaja Photography’s any-workshop-available

Ok so maybe I need more like about $15,000. Time to put the thinking cap on and in the meantime get the lottery tickets out.

Linking up today with Jess and Sif for I Blog On Tuesdays and 10 Things Tuesday.

* If you are interested in seeing any of my work, you can find some of it here and some of it here.

10 thoughts on “Do What You Love. JUST SHUT UP AND DO IT!

  1. Good on you for making a plan.

    Honestly, I think half the challenge is getting your name out there. We had some family photos done by someone who I didn’t think was particularly great, but had a name and a Facebook page so she got business. Maybe you just need to start small, and then work your way up. People recognise quality when they see it. 🙂

    • I have a FB page and a blog, maybe part of my plan needs to be to be patient, start saving and collecting “pieces”. Problem is I want to go buy it all RIGHT NOW! Always impatient!

  2. Just to give you hope – one of my oldest friends back in NYC became a photographer in her late 30s – she was pretty low on funds in her little new york apartment, but has managed to build up slowly , saved to do a fab course (where she went to another part of the states for it) and now does portraits, weddings, a lot of real estate photography and family shoots. I know she did a lot of helping photographers for a while – setting up shots, carrying equipment, borrowing studio space and learned whatever they would teach her. There is always hop for a new career even when we are older (I am 39 and still figuring it out myself

    Found you via Jess’ blog hop for IBOT

    • Thanks for your comment and yes, does give me hope! I think photography is one of those things that you could start at any age! I think it’s even harder for mums to figure out what they want to do because it has to meet so many requirements – namely not ask 60 hours a week of you because you’d rather be spending time with your family than working!

  3. It’s a shame it’s so expensive to start up when you already know what it is you want to do. Ebay of Flickr groups can be a good place to start with camera bodies – lots of photographers who upgrade even when their old cameras/lenses are still in good condition.

    Good luck with realising your dream!

    • Thank you! Yes I have been stalking eBay and some second-hand cameras. That’s a great idea to try and get some more equipment. Most people do tend to look after them.

  4. What about getting in on the ground floor with a local photographer’s business? You’ll get to learn the ins & outs of the business, learn tips & tricks of the trade, improve your already great talent, & hopefully earn money toward your pile o toys! 😀

    What about eBay for the not-quite-dream equipment to get you started? I’m sure you can continue to hone your skill with lesser equipment which will then lead to bigger pay cheques to buy the prime equipment. 😀

    I’m so excited for you!! You will make your dream come true, I just know it!! 😀 Best of luck & all the best in 2012!!

  5. Oh! You probably know this already, but it’s my only photographic tip. LOL When looking through the lens, imagine a tic-tac-toe board superimposed over the image. Then, put the subject of the image on one of those intersections. I can’t remember why, but it’s supposed to be visually appealing for some reason. LOL

Leave a Reply

