His First Day

Today is a big day in the Colours of Sunset household. I talked about making a change back in this post. Well, today, Nick, Mr 3, is at his new daycare center for the first time on his own.

The lovely Bron over at Dr Harmon Modern Family was kind enough to write a guide for how to help children cope when changing daycare. I tried so hard to follow her suggestions, talking about the new center, smiling about it and being excited about it, even though on the inside I was absolutely dreading it. We visited the new place on Monday and within 5 minutes, Nick was ready to go. He was actually getting quite antsy about it, tugging on me and bouncing up and down saying, “Nick ready to go NOW.” Funnily enough, after an hour and a half, when I said it was time to go, he then said, “No, not yet mama, soon.”

That evening, The Husband and Nick went to the shops to get something. When they came home, I asked Nick to tell daddy all about his new kindy. My husband stopped me and said, “Oh I’ve heard all about it. But it’s not kindy, it’s “school”, he said he liked it and is going on Wednesday.”He also told daddy that he did some painting, some work, and played on the playground.

We talked about it some more yesterday, and last night while we were getting his lunch box ready. This morning my husband called me at work after he dropped Nick off, and said that there were no tears, but he was a bit shy, which for him is really normal. Except that tears are also usually normal. So that’s already a step in a positive direction, I think.

The big challenge will be me dropping him off. He is always worse when I take him than when daddy takes him. I think it’s because of one of two things, I’m just not sure which. Either he’s not as upset having to be separated from daddy, or he can sense that I am upset being separated from him and he responds to that. Maybe it’s a combination of both.

The director at the center was great on Monday when we visited. She walked me through everything, was very understanding that I was so apprehensive and asked me if I knew, “Why?” I said I wasn’t sure, but I guessed it was because I’m leaving somewhere we’ve been for two years and we were comfortable there. It takes an awful lot of trust to leave your child in someone else’s care. And I worry about him. I’m a natural worry wort anyway, but major changes like this throws that in to over drive.

I started to wonder if I’d made the right decision. The new center is Montessori-based. I started to wonder if it was asking too much of a 3 1/2 year old to have such a structured day, to be so independent. Either way, it’s done now, so we just have to see how he goes.

Montessori education is characterized by an emphasis on independence, freedom within limits, and respect for a child’s natural psychological development, as well as technological advancements in society. – wikipedia

I’ve also been feeling guilty lately that I’m not there enough. I work Wednesday to Sunday. They are not full days, but they are long enough that there is very little family time, where it is just the three of us. Then on Monday and Tuesday, my days with Nick, we almost always spend one whole day watching TV, and I justify it because he’s out of the house every other day of the week. Well, it’s got to stop. Yesterday was finally a bit of a victory in that department. We went to the shops, got a haircut, bought some paint, did some painting spent over an hour in the pool and had a really good day. There was some Mickey Mouse thrown in there, but it was just far too hot at lunch time to do much else.

I’m not sure who today will be longer for, me or him. I can’t wait to go get him this afternoon and hear all about it.

Thanks Dr. Bron for your help!

 

 

Leave a Reply

