A Dear So-and-So Letter

Dear Windows Live/MSN/Hotmail/Whatever-You-Want-To-Call-Yourself,

In the interest of honesty, you’re my “Junk Account”. Everyone has one, whether it’s a hotmail or yahoo account, or something else. We all have our Main Account, the one we use for emailing family and friends, for facebook, for things we actually care about and want to hear from. Then there’s the Junk Account. Which is what you are. You are the email address I give to retailers, online coupons, and generally anything that doesn’t fall into a Main Account category.

That also means I don’t check you often, and usually only do so to empty you.

A couple of months ago, my Main Account got SPAM MAIL from YOU! Everyone in my contacts list got spam from you. I went and changed my password. I only have about 3-4 passwords I ever use. Surely I’d have changed it to one of them. Now, you have locked me out, because I have exceeded the number of attempts to log in. I have tried password recovery but your “security question” is one I have never seen before, and can not imagine it would have been my choice. “Who was your childhood best friend?” I had 2 best friends growing up, neither of them is the right answer.

After contacting your customer (no)service, you cannot confirm that I am the owner of the account in question. Are you kidding me? I wish you’d been that vigilant with the assclown who hacked into my account and sent spam to everyone.

It would seem your “security” has a major problem. Just this week I’ve received another spam from a friend who also has a Windows Live/MSN/Hotmail/Whatever-You-Want-To-Call Yourself account. For this reason, I’ll be abandoning said account and setting up another one with yahoo. Screw you.

~Colours of Sunset

5 thoughts on “A Dear So-and-So Letter

  1. I use msn for my junk mail as well.
    I have recently had the same problem. I got blocked from my own account because i was ‘spamming’ to many people. (i don’t send emails from this account)
    I think they have a few to many issues and like you i have also had enough of them and im looking into yahoo.

    “Screw you Windows Live/MSN/Hotmail/Whatever-You-Want-To-Call-Yourself”

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one, but sorry you are also having this trouble. I’m going to have to set aside some time to sit down and figure out what exactly is linked to that account and if it’s anything important (probably not, but just in case) and then get another junk account.

Leave a Reply

