Thankful Thursday

It’s Thankful Thursday with Kate Says Stuff, and while I’m feeling very “blah” at the moment, I’m sure I can still find at least 5 things to be thankful for. That’s the goal. I can. I will. Here it goes.

1. I’m thankful for friends. One in particular, Miss B, who recently moved to England with her Navy husband and their son, for a 12 month stint. We got a parcel in the mail yesterday. A Fireman Sam shirt for N. N loves Sam. It’s so nice to be thought of. I’ve been feeling a lot lately like I never am.

2. I’m thankful for my husband. On Sunday he made breakfast, did the grocery shopping, washed my car, looked after our son while I worked, did the laundry, cooked dinner, then did the dishes…I know not many women can say their husband does any of that, let alone does it all in one day.

3. Saying I’m thankful for my son feels like cheating, because he makes the list every week. But I am always thankful for him, and I don’t ever want to leave him off this list, because as thankful as I am that the sun comes up every day, I am even more thankful that he wakes up every day. I know that sounds morbid, I know that he’s 3 now, I should really stop worrying if he’s breathing or not. But do parents really ever stop worrying about that? The stories I read, the mummy bloggers I read who have lost a child, who are struggling with a child, who have children diagnosed with awful diseases…I feel so blessed and so thankful that I have a happy, healthy child. And I don’t ever want to take that for granted.

4. I am thankful for my job, which has allowed us to get our credit card balance down to practically $0. I say practically, because we just put my car rego and insurance on there, but that will be gone in a couple of weeks. It is a burden we did not need, and a weight off our shoulders that it is finally under control. Credit cards are devil spawn. I don’t even carry mine anymore, it sits near my computer, I.C.E. Of course, if I’m out and about and there’s an emergency, I’m screwed.

5. I’m thankful for Kate’s Thankful Thursday, because it makes me sit down and take stock of what is important. It makes me think about all the good in my life, rather than whinge about all the petty things that seem to pile up and become mountains when really, they’re just molehills.

Now, go make your own list of things you’re thankful for this week, and share them with Kate’s blog hop. Then go read what everyone else is thankful for. It will cheer you up, I promise.

12 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

    • I can only imagine how much harder it would be if our hubbies didn’t help at all! How did our mothers and grandmothers do it?! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  1. I hate using the cc too, and try not. I used to keep it at home until one day when I got stuck, so now I have it on me but don’t use unless completely necessary! (Like new shoes! Only kidding πŸ™‚ )

    • HAHA! Except that in my case it’s not kidding, and suddenly I can justify anything and everything and use it! Best to keep it out of my reach! Thanks for your comments πŸ™‚

  2. Aww thankyou! I always feel like the times that it’s hardest to find the thankful is when we most need to do it!

    And it’s never cheating to be thankful for your children. Never ever ever πŸ™‚

    Thanks for linking up!

    • You’re so right! It’s when we are at our lowest and when the weight of the world is on our shoulders that we need to sit up and take stock of what we have, and get a grip on perspective! As my mum always says, “It could be worse!”

  3. The simplest things are quite often the ones we take for granted. Thank you for sharing, and reminding us all to take stock of what’s important! (Including Kates blog hop πŸ˜‰ )

  4. I hear you on the child part, every time I sit down to write a thankful post I want to write first and foremost give thanks for the blessings that are my children. Really without them (even when they are less and pleasant) life would just not be life

    • We just didn’t know what we were missing out on before we had children, did we?! I feel sad for people who can’t have or don’t want them…there’s nothing better in the world! (must remember that next time I hear “Nick do it” or “Why, mummy?”)

Leave a Reply

