A Letter To Nicklas

Dear Nicklas,

I’m having a hard time figuring out if I should laugh at your behavior or cry at it. I suppose if it was the way you acted all the time, I should be concerned, but it’s not, it’s once or twice a day. So maybe nothing to worry about. It’s just, some of the things that come out of your mouth are hilarious, but if someone who didn’t know you or us heard it they’d probably have some concerns. My guess tho is that it is kind of normal for a 3 year old. Here’s some examples of what you’ve been doing.

The other night I cut your toasted cheese sandwich up, and you didn’t like the way I was cutting it. “Not like THAT mum,” you said. Then in this agro, growling kind of voice you said, “Argh, mum, driving Nicklas crazy.” Oh dear.

Recently we were eating dinner and I asked if I could have one of your chicken nuggets. your response was, “No. Finish your soup, first!”

Yesterday we ran into one of my old teachers, and when she tickled your leg, in that agro, growling voice again, you said, “Don’t touch me!”

Last night you and your dad were playing in your bedroom when things went quiet. You came out to me in the kitchen and said daddy was asleep. When I went to check on him, he was on the floor, under a blanket and the light was off. When he sat up, you said, “Lay down and go to sleep!” And you turned the light off and shut the door.

You’re such a little…PERSON now. You copy everything we say, EVERYTHING…I’ve never been so conscious of my language in my life. And you’re smart. You recognise pictures of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge and you remember that they are in Sydney, all because we spent 3 days there.

We’ve put your enrollment form in for prep/primary school. Being a June 30 baby you are going to be the very youngest in the class, but the way you are going at this point, I don’t think I need to worry about that. You’re a really switched on kid, and I hope that in 10, 15, 20 years when you’re reading this, the same holds true, and that you are smart about the decisions you make, and the things you do.

Well, that’s all for this letter. Your second run of Monsters Inc. is about to finish, and we have cupcakes to ice.

Love you more than life,
Mamma

Leave a Reply

