Yesterday I Accidentally Forgot My Phone

Yesterday was the first day in weeks, that I can recall, that N and I didn’t have somewhere to be, someone to catch up or something that had to be done. I decided we’d go get his hair cut and look for a duster for his new chalk board, but if they didn’t happen, it wasn’t going to be a big deal.

We accomplished both things by lunch time and were going a little bit crazy sitting at home. And it was far too nice a day to even try to justify sitting at home, so off we went to the park. And, accidentally, I left my phone on the kitchen counter.

After a few moments of, “What-if-something-happens” panic, I accepted that I had no way of contacting anyone, they had no way of contacting me, I had no idea what time it was, and we set about playing.

We climbed, we swung, we slid, we laughed. He rode his bike, I ran to keep up. Then since we were at the park at the beach, we kicked off our shoes and chased each other along the waters edge. He ran and laughed and had the best time. Before we left we built lighthouse sandcastles, just so that he could jump on them and destroy him. After all, isn’t that the only reason for building sandcastles?

When I told him, “5 more minutes, then we have to go home and get dinner ready and see daddy” he replied, “Ok mama.” And, what I thought was about 5 minutes later, when I told him it was time to go, he got up, waved and said, “Bye beach! Come back soon!” If I could find a picture of a heart actually melting, I would post it here.

When we got back in the car, we’d spent over an hour and a half at the park. The best hour and a half N and I have spent together in ages. I think next time I’ll forget my phone on purpose. I think other parents should do the same thing.

2 thoughts on “Yesterday I Accidentally Forgot My Phone

Leave a Reply

