Cow Wrangling: Not As Hard As You’d Think

Have you seen City Slickers? If you haven’t, you should, as it is hilarious. I was convinced we were going to film City Slickers 3, but with golf carts instead of horses, at my work today.

Around lunch time we got a really strange phone call from a member who was out on the course. “There’s a cow out here on number 13.” Ummmm. What do you do with that?! I called our superintendent and asked what we should do. “Go wrangle it back through the fence, and make sure it doesn’t go on the greens or anything.” Gee thanks.

It was time for E to go home and he wasn’t too keen on going out to number 13 with me. “C’mon, E! How often do you get to say, “I wrangled a cow at work today”???” He relented, and off we went, 2 golf carts and a broom each, just in case the cow needed prodding*.

We got to number 13 and I didn’t see anything. Over the hill we went and there he was.

Looking for greener pastures

The cow stood looking at us warily. I said, “We should probably try to figure out where he got through the fence, so we know what direction to push him back in.” Sounded like a good plan to me.

“Hey cow, do you want to help us out and show us where you got through?” E asked the cow. The cow didn’t respond.

E got out of his cart, which I thought was rather brave. I wasn’t sure if cows charged, but I’d just seen the Running Of The Bulls on TV and wasn’t taking any chances. I wondered if the golf cart could out-run the cow?

As it turned out, the cow was terrified of us and took off running. At this point I really should have turned my phone’s camera to video. I was in my cart, E was on foot, and this rogue cow was heading down the fence line. Then E says, “Hey, cow, how about you help us out and go back onto your own side of the fence?” Before either of us could do anything, it threw its head under the barb wire, put its belly on the ground, and dragged itself under the fence.

At this point, E and I both panicked slightly, thinking the cow was going to get stuck in the barb wire fence, and let’s face it, it would be much worse to call a farmer and say, “Excuse me, your cow is stuck in a barb wire fence” than calling and saying, “Your cow is eating our perfectly manicured grass, come get it.”

To our surprise, he got under without much trouble at all. We didn’t see any squirting blood, anyway, and he moseyed off to join his mates, keeping a watchful eye on us as we tried to find the break in the fence. We did end up finding a spot where the barb wire fence had rusted through and there was quite a gap for him to get under. That’ll have to be left up to the grounds crew to fix. E and I did our part, getting the cow back to the other property with no damage to the course!

Back where he belongs

All in all, I’d say it’s the most exciting thing, if not a little anti-climatic, that’s happened to me in my year of employment there.

*As far as we know, no cows were harmed in the making of this blog post

Leave a Reply

