Not Coping

Everyone has a limit. A certain amount of shit they can handle being thrown at them before they break. A point at which they just can’t cope anymore. Today, I am teetering on the edge of that point.

My son has been sick for over a week now. It started with a high temp. That temp lasted 5 days and we were prepared to go to the hospital the next time the panadol wore off and the fever spiked again. Thankfully, it didn’t spike again and we didn’t go to the hospital. On top of that, he’s been completely full of mucus, had frequent coughing fits, contracted conjunctivitis in BOTH eyes and has been all-round just plain miserable. I mean, with those ailments, who wouldn’t be? You can’t blame him, and I don’t blame him.

But he has missed kindy last Thursday, Friday, Monday and now today, Thursday. That’s $200 worth of kindy down the drain, but that is a whole other blog post for another day and time. I’ve had to rearrange work, organise for mum to take time off work to help out watching him, give up my “me” days and now organise for a friend to babysit because I have my psychologist appointment this afternoon.

I know he can’t help it, but this kind of interruption in our schedule makes me incredibly antsy and unnerved. I like to think I handle change ok, that I can be spontaneous if I have to or choose to be. But I don’t like interruptions in our routine. I don’t like my son being sick, and I don’t like not knowing when he will be better. It all creates a high level of anxiety and panic in me.

Sounds like I have plenty of issues for the psychologist today.

 

One thought on “Not Coping

  1. Wow, they gouge you for kindy pricing!! Not to mention, not refunding it to you, when N doesn’t go!

    Ugh. I’m so sorry. Sending N healthy thoughts. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

