The First Time

I was all geared up (literally – I’ve bought new shoes, new sports bra, new shorts and tank top, all for running) to go on my first run yesterday afternoon with my 2 sisters. And then this happened.

I couldn’t believe it!! As if I needed help making up excuses to not go! I’ve been doing that all on my own long enough! I was finally ready, my back was feeling much better, I was pumped. And it’s not like it was “just a bit of rain.” Oh no. It looked like our entire complex could be swept up and tossed into Munchkin Land a la Aunty Em’s house.

But this morning? This morning was different. I was woken at 5 by a 2.5 year old crawling into bed with me and then hubby’s alarm going off. In the background I heard rain. After tossing and turning for an hour, I got up, and looked outside. Blue sky and sun! I quickly got geared up again, and off I set, iPhone in hand, runkeeper activated, ready to face my first run.

I started walking and had programmed runkeeper to do a 5 minute walk, 5 minute run, 5 minute walk, 5 minute run. I did that, and afterwards thought I should really have kept going, but my legs were feeling a bit numb and I didn’t know what time it was, so wasn’t sure how much longer before hubby had to leave for work. I went home, having only gone just over 2 ks, and just over 20 minutes. I didn’t push myself too hard, and I know that I’ll have to push harder to get better. But I’m confident that if I do this same workout every other day for another week, then I can slowly build up to another km, then another. Our complex is situated in the middle of the street, between the main road and the cul-de-sac. If I can do the whole street and back, that’s 4 kms.

It wasn’t quite as I imagined. I had been picturing the ad campaign from “What Women Want” … “The road doesn’t notice if you’re not wearing lipstick, doesn’t care how old you are…..Nike. No Games. Just Sports.” It wasn’t like that at all. And the walkers going past me, looking at me as if I might pass out and they might have to catch me, made it even less therapeutic than I thought it might have been.

But I did it. I might have been out of breath and unsteady on my feet by the end, but I did it. And Wednesday or Thursday I’ll do it again. And I’ll keep doing it until I can do it without thinking about it, without huffing and puffing, until I can get up and over that Gateway Bridge and into Brisbane without needing an ambulance to assist on the last 8 ks.

I’ll do it. Today was the first step.

One thought on “The First Time

  1. Go you!! I’m sure the other joggers didn’t even notice you feeling out of breath or shaky on your legs. They’re probably worrying what YOU were thinking about THEM. 😀

    Your desire & determination are inspiring. 🙂 Keep it up!! You can so do this!!

Leave a Reply

