Stress

I once heard someone say that the two most stressful days of your life are your wedding day, and moving day. If you’re lucky, neither of them happen too often! But I feel like my whole life has been about moving. As a side note, whoever wrote that obviously hadn’t had a parent die yet, because I can tell you, THAT day, ranks right up there.

Once my parents got divorced, it seemed we moved a few times. Then I moved to the other side of the world, where I then was on the move all the time, as a college campus is hardly a full time residence. After college I moved to Atlanta, where I lived for 7 years. Which sounds great, except that in those 7 years I had no less than 5 different addresses. Ridiculous! Since moving back home to Australia 3 and a bit years ago, I’ve had 3 addresses. And now we are moving. Again.

Years ago, a friend said, “You reach a certain age and income level where you can no longer pay your friends in beer and pizza to help you move.” Isn’t it funny the things we remember people saying? So this time around, hubby and I decided to hire “professionals”. It is somewhat nice to think that 2 people other than US will be doing all the heavy lifting and negotiating the stairs with couches, beds, and the like. Its also nice to think that 99% of everything will be moved in one trip, as opposed to the previous effort of 3,259 trips back and forth.

It hasn’t been until we’ve been packing up that I’ve started to see all the positive aspects to where we live now. I am really going to miss our little courtyard area where our BBQ, outdoor setting and clothesline is. We won’t have any of that in the new place as there is just no room. Our garage, which is detached, will be used as storage. I know these are things we will learn to live with but here, they are so convenient that I think they’ll be really missed. The beach is 5 minutes away. When we move it will be 10. Which really, is still close enough, but its just that little bit further.

Our new place is closer to both our work, closer to mum, tennis, shopping (like, good shopping, not bogan shopping that we have now)…it is a good move. But I am already thinking about our NEXT move. This place we’re moving to is great for the 3 of us, but what if one day in the next year or 2 there is 4 of us? Or 5 of us? We’re going to need more room, and that will mean yet another move.

It may or may not be something we will ever have to consider, so there’s no point in stressing about that now. I know that. I will keep telling myself that.

At least on your wedding day you get to dress like a princess and have a huge party. On moving day, all you get is bruises, aches and exhaustion.

 

2 thoughts on “Stress

  1. Yeah, we eventually went to professional movers. If I can help it, I’ll never go back. It makes the process so much easier. Just take life one day at a time. *big hugs*

Leave a Reply

