day 30 – your favourite song

Day 30. The last day. I’m somewhat sad to see this blog challenge come to an end. I wonder where things will go from here? Perhaps I can make up my own 30-day blog challenge?

I think I mentioned in the iPod challenge post that this topic, this question, would be the absolute hardest for me to answer. Where do you see yourself in 5 years, what have you learned in the last month, what is the meaning of life? These questions, I can answer. What is your favourite song? Its a trick question. There is no answer.

I can’t even tell you a top 5. See, I’m that person, who in a bar on any given night, can hear 30 songs and my reaction to 25 of them will be, “I love this song!!!!!”

Not only that, but you could put me in 5 different bars, with 5 different genres, and I can still do the same thing.

Every month I have a different favourite. Last month was Jason Derulo. Two months ago was Sister Hazel. At any given time, my favourite might suddently be Frank Sinatra or U2.

Since my dad died, every Elton John or Billy Joel or Eagles or Keith Urban song has been my favourite.

When I had my son, every song about being a parent, having a child, or loving a child was my favourite.

When I was getting married, every love song was my favourite. You see what I’m getting at.

I love music. I eat, sleep, breathe it. It never ceases to amaze me that no matter what event happens in your life, you always hear the right song at the right time. I love that about music.

In fact, I think I’ll go listen to some right now.

Leave a Reply

