day 22 – what makes you different from everyone else

I’m me.

Honestly, I’m not sure I can do much better than that today.

In college, my Monday night social life revolved around Ally McBeal. I loved it. I loved Callista Flockhart and her crazy crew of attorneys. I loved the dancing baby and I loved the bathroom antics, especially the big dance to Barry White.

I remember in one episode Ally’s roommate asked her, “What makes your problems so much more important than anyone else’s?”

“They’re MINE,” she responded.

I think, in the grand scheme of things, people are not so different from each other. Even if it feels like you’re a world apart from someone, there is something that connects you. That bonds you. But people are too rushed, too proud, too selfish or too blind to want to spend the time to find out what that thing is.

Leave a Reply

