day 12 – how you found out about blogging and why you have one

I don’t mean to brag, but I was blogging before blogging was cool. I don’t remember exactly how I found out about it, but my first journal I had was over at “diaryland” where several friends also blogged and we all followed each other, commented on each other, and it was great fun. I wish I had saved those blogs. They are forever lost. I’d be interested to read what trivial things I thought were important when I was 20. Then I moved from dland to livejournal, where I actually still have journal entries, though I’ve closed it off to friends only and I don’t ever update it. My first journal entry dates back to May 28th, 2002. Here is what my 23-year-old-self thought would make a good first journal entry:

WELCOME! This is going to be short and sweet, much like me ๐Ÿ™‚ Ok, so at 5’10 I’m not so short, but I can promise I am sweet! And speaking of sweet, Scara64, the sweetheart, convinced me to get one of these journal things. Considering I have a diary at diaryland.com (is it bad to mention them here?) it’s going to be interesting to see if I can keep up with them both. Thank God for the Cut&Paste function! And thank God for Scara reminding me of that function. Ha-ha! Well, this is just an intro, so let me introduce myself oh-so briefly. I’m Australian by birth, American by choice. Well, not really. I’m always going to be Australian at heart, but for the last 6 years the United States has been my home. How much longer will it be home? That, my friends, is the million dollar question! Please do not answer this question, there isn’t really a million dollars for the answer. Thanks ๐Ÿ˜‰ I work with kids! I have a degree in journalism! No, those two things are not directly related. I have 2 little sisters, my parents are divorced, I drive a beat-up 91 corolla, I share an apartment with a boy who has a girlfriend and is never around, I’ve been in Atlanta for a year and a half and still don’t really have a support group of friends here, I miss my friends from college and in December I’m going home for 3 weeks. That’s me in a nutshell. Well, the facts about me. It takes a lot more than an introduction to get to know me on the inside. Stay tuned for more…

Does anyone else CRINGE when they read things they wrote almost a decade ago!? Wow.

Here’s another excerpt from a few days later, where I was lamenting my singledom (which I think a lot of my early noughties journalling probably contained)

It’s not that I’m not happy on my own. I’m pretty good company to keep! But I can only talk to myself for so long before the conversation gets one-sided and I know what I’m going to say next. That makes for a pretty boring conversation.

Ok I just got a bit caught up in reminiscing, and I don’t have time for that this morning. But one day soon, I will go back through all that and read them, and maybe even try to download them all and print it.

I guess I have always had these online blogs/journals because at the end of college I really wished I had kept a diary and had written down things that were going on or things I was feeling. I really don’t remember much of my college years, whether or not I was homesick, what I thought of the culture difference between the US and Australia, etc. There have been rather large lulls in my blogging though, so not everything is blogged.

However I just found this from the day after my wedding:

So, I’m married. ย If I’d had a crystal ball to see how the last 4 days were going to go, I would have said to hell with it and eloped. I’m going to spend the next year paying off a wedding that will probably bring nothing but bad memories for the next 60 years. It rained, I got the flu (as in fevers, sweats and achy body…the night before!), there was family drama, the hair salon did my hair so it looked like I had a piece of shit on my head and we re-did it at the hotel…weddings are so overrated.

Thankfully its been almost 5 years and I’m no longer bitter about the rain or being sick as a dog. Still not thrilled that my hair looked like shit, though. I’m a little bit sad that that was all I was focused on, everything that went wrong, when really, everything went right – our family and friends saw us get married. The rest is just details.

I think the older I’ve got, the less of a need I’ve felt for my blog. I look at the popular mummy blogs and they are such talented writers that they can turn a day of changing nappies and dealing with kids into laugh out loud anecdotes and convey them so well through their words. I feel like all I do is whinge!

Anyway, that’s my history with blogging. Maybe I’ll share some more excerpts soon.

One thought on “day 12 – how you found out about blogging and why you have one

  1. You should read more of your entries. You don’t whine as much as you may think you do. The posts that I find particularly special are the ones where you’ve written a ‘letter’ to your lil man. ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s going to cherish those, one day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

