day 10 – songs you listen to when you are happy, sad, bored….

I just want to start by saying any post about music is going to be difficult for me, as there are over 3,600 songs on my ipod, and my husband has another 20,000 plus songs on his computer. We do love our music.

For the most part I used to leave my iPod on shuffle and just skip past the songs I didn’t want to listen to. I was trying to get through all 3,600 but got up to around 1,800 and the radio re-set itself.

In our new car, its not really easy to do that. So I’ve made up a few playlists, one that is dance/pop, another that I’ve called “acousticish”, another that is called “classics”. My definition of classics is Elton John, Billy Joel, Van Morrison, etc. Oh, I also have a “country” playlist.

Typically when I am in the car on my own, on my way to work, I need music that is going to put me in a good mood, so the dance/pop playlist gets selected. This includes artists such as Kelly Clarkson, Fergie, Pink, Jason Derulo, Lady Gaga, Justin Timberlake and others.

On my way home from work when I want to chill out, more often than not, I’ll listen to the “acousticish” playlist. This has some Counting Crows, Dave Matthews Band, The Fray, Jack Johnson, Newton Faulkner, Nickleback, Secondhand Serenade, etc.

Then if I’m feeling like something different I put the classics or country on. These tend to make me sad because the classics make me think of my dad, and country….well, most country songs are just sad anyway.

Lastly, when my son is in the car, its the Wiggles playlist, most of the time. That is self explanatory.

There’s really only 2 types of music I can’t listen to – techno and rap. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

