day 5- a picture of somewhere you’ve been to

I’m too lazy to make another collage of all the places I’ve been so I’ve been trying to think of the most interesting, or most exotic place I’ve been, but it is hard to pick one. Having lived in the States for 11 years, I saw a lot of that country. Much more than I’ve seen of Australia even. Isn’t it funny how we take what is in our back yard for granted? Even living in the States, there were lots of places that were so close by that I never went to. If I could do it over again I’d spend a weekend (at least!) in NYC (I did spend a day in there, but that is nothing!), I’d go to Nashville again, I’d go to Niagra Falls, Chicago, Seattle.

As I mentioned in my first blog challenge post, my husband and I spent 25 days in Europe, and really saw quite a lot. As much as you can see in 25 days and still spend some time in each place. It would be easy to see 25 cities in 25 days in Europe, but we didn’t want to do that.

Looking through my picture files on my computer, I was reminded of a place we visited in the States during our trip in June 2009. We met up with a college friend of mine and her husband in Shipshewana, Indiana. It is a Mennonite/Amish town and buggies can be seen coming into and out of town on a regular basis. It is a cute, quaint little town, and attracts a lot of visitors. Before we left Detroit to head down there, we were told not to take pics of the Amish, as they don’t like it. And lets face it, who would want to be treated like a circus and have annoying tourists shoving cameras in your faces the whole time? They deserve respect and privacy, but it is so interesting to learn about their culture, and so intriguing that it is difficult not to want to document their way of life. It is so foreign to us, to live without electricity, and the things that gives us like TV, computers, etc.

My only impression of the Amish until this trip had been Kirsty Alley and Tim Allen, For Richer or Poorer. Now I have a better appreciation for their simple and self-sufficient culture. Here are a couple of pics from our trip.

Me & my boys at the history centre

IMG_0649

One of many buggies seen on a regular basis, this one leaving town
IMG_0668

Windmill at Amish/Mennonite History Centre
IMG_0635

One of little shopping streets

IMG_0624

 

I think you’ll learn pretty quickly that I can never just share “a” picture.

One thought on “day 5- a picture of somewhere you’ve been to

Leave a Reply

