Day 1- a recent picture of you and 15 interesting facts about yourself

I’m not really sure what qualifies as “recent” when asking for a recent picture of myself. This picture is from 6 months ago. That will have to be recent enough.

rohb4

As for 15 interesting facts about myself, I guess that is relative, isn’t it? What I find interesting, others most likely will not. But here goes:

1 – Not sure if its “interesting” but to me its the most important fact about myself, and that is that I am a wife and a mother. I have a 2.5 year old son who is the light of my life, even when he is driving me absolutely bat-shit crazy. I don’t know where I’d be without my little family unit, and I hope I never have to find out.

2 – As well as being a wife and mother, I am a student. I am about to finish my graduate certificate in business and after taking 1-2 semesters off will go back and do my masters degree. Originally it was going to be in event management, but after doing this grad cert, I’m finding myself really interested in organisational behaviour and corporate social responsibility.

3 – I work at a members-only golf course. I love it. The members are great, the work is enjoyable and the people I work with are also great. I consider myself very lucky to have a job I enjoy doing and that I get enough hours to pay the bills but also to get to have 3 days a week at home with my son.

4 – I just got a brand new car. A 2010 Mitsubishi Lancer sx hatchback. I have never had a new car in my whole life. I love it.

5 – I met my husband online, and it turned out we lived in the same apartment complex in Atlanta. If you knew how popular apartment complexes were in Atlanta, and how big Atlanta is, you’d realise what a big deal that is. He is from Detroit, thus a big Red Wings fan. I quickly realised that if I didn’t get into this hockey thing, I would not have his attention for approximate 9 months of the year, so I jumped on the bandwagon and LOVE LOVE LOVE it! The Atlanta Thrashers are my team, and when I can, I listen to the games online. I’m currently listening to them play the Florida Panthers and they are up 2-1.

6 – I grew up in Australia, then moved to the US to go to college and play golf on a scholarship. I lived in the US for 11 years before moving home to Australia. I only planned to go for 4. My goal was to be a professional golfer. I possibly had the talent, but realised that I didn’t have the self-drive and motivation to put in the work it required.

7 – At age 11 I had to pick between golf and tennis, as both were held Saturday mornings. Plus I had 2 sisters who also had to have a say in what they did. I picked golf. I often wonder where I’d be now had I picked tennis.

8 – My husband and I moved to Australia so we could be near my family when we started our own family. The plan was to move to Australia, get jobs, start trying to procreate. But the baby gods had other plans.

9 – Between quitting our jobs and moving to Australia, we took a 25 day trip to Europe – England, France, Italy, Switzerland. While in Rome, we found out I was pregnant! Hindsight is 20-20. I should have waited until we got back to the States to do the pregnancy test, as once I found out I was pregnant, I couldn’t drink the champagne they offered us when we flew first class back to Atlanta.

10 – I have a degree in journalism, but I have no interest in being a journalist. This does mean, however, that people who mess up “you’re/your” and “their/there/they’re” and the rest of those tricking English words really drive me crazy.

11 – I watch no less than 9 TV shows a week that I absolutely can NOT miss. At the moment it is How I Met Your Mother, Rules of Engagement, Big Bang Theory, Desperate Housewives, Grey’s Anatomy, Brothers & Sisters, Parenthood, Detroit 1-8-7 and Packed to the Rafters. In the offseason, you can include Army Wives in that. And sometimes you can also include Glee. Yep, I’m a tvophile.

12 – I have had so many blogs and journals over the last 10 years and a lot of them have been lost/deleted. I sometimes wish I could go back and read about the things that were important to me 10 years ago. Its amazing how our perspective changes as we get older and realise how self-involved and dramatic we were.

13 – I have recently lost my dad, at just 61. He had a heart condition, and even though the autopsy was “inconclusive” I am fairly confident that the chronic cough dad had for 3 weeks before he died contributed to his heart failure. There’s not a day goes by that I don’t think about him, miss him, and wish I could just pick up the phone and call him. I have known people in the past who have died, but none of their deaths have hit me like this one has. It has really made me take notice of how precious life is, and how short it can be. When people say its not worth stressing about things, they are right. Stress does NOTHING good for you. We really need to enjoy every day we are given and look for the silver lining  in everything.

14 – I was once a volunteer for Big Brothers Big Sisters of America. Unfortunately it didn’t work out, and didn’t last very long. Ultimately I was a babysitter for this womans two daughters. Every time I took my little sister somewhere, her sister came with us. I went into their house once, not in the best part of Atlanta, and there were alcohol bottles in the mother’s bedroom. I wonder what happened to those two girls. Perhaps I should have done more. But again, I was young and stupid, and don’t know what I expected. That they would pair me with some little rich white girl? That is one thing I’d like to go back and do over again.

15 – I love taking photos. I think everyone should have great photos of themselves and their partners/kids/family. I tried to make a business of it, but I lack confidence, equipment and start-up funds to do anything about it. Plus between school, my “real” job, my husband and son, I didn’t have the time to put into it. Maybe one day that will be different.

Wow, this has taken me a long time to write. Next time it asks for something like this, I think I’ll make up much more interesting facts. Maybe things like, I once spent a week in the South of France partying with the royals. Or I used to be a lounge singer on the Caribbean cruise line. On second thoughts, I’m pretty happy with the things that are real.

One thought on “Day 1- a recent picture of you and 15 interesting facts about yourself

  1. I didn’t realize that when you met, you were actually living in the same apartment complex!! How cool is that?!?!

    I know I’ve said this before, but I’m so sorry for your loss. I wish I could ease your pain. *big hugs*

    I’ve enjoyed following you around online and watching you grow and become a woman of strength. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your world. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

