Stairs and Toddlers

There are a lot of things that don’t “mix well” with Toddlers. The word “no” for example. Sleep time. The word “wait”.

Today, I learned another thing that doesn’t mix well with toddlers. Stairs.

My poor baby fell down our whole flight of stairs when his little buddy inadvertently knocked him off balance on the top step. She didn’t mean it. And didn’t know that what she did would make Nick fall down, but nevertheless, down he fell. I think for the most part he managed to stay upright and not beat his head around too much, but to hear him falling, and to see him in a heap on the floor below…I think my heart stopped. For more than just a second. His continuous crying was almost reassuring. In the end, I think my reaction (panic, tears, etc.) only fuelled his reaction. To be honest, the kid milked it for all it was worth! I don’t know where he gets THAT from. Hmmm?

Then we tried to explain to his friend what had happened, but how do you explain that to a 2.5 year old? In any case, I spent the afternoon looking for houses for rent that don’t have stairs. I think we got lucky today. I hope there’s not a next time, but if there is, we might not be so lucky.

One thought on “Stairs and Toddlers

Leave a Reply

