Weight Loss

My baby sister is getting married in July, and over the past few months, has lost almost 14 kilograms thanks to the help of WeightWatchers and a SHITLOAD of exercise. She is so disciplined and motivated. She inspired me to try and change some of my lifestyle patterns. Namely, to stop eating lots of chocolate, macdonalds, hot chips, cakes, cookies, etc.

About 4 weeks ago I decided it was time to shed some of the extra K.G.s I was carrying. My son is almost 2 years old, the excuse “I just had a baby” is no longer a valid one. I started off by just counting calories, and really I haven’t strayed far from that plan. I’ve got both Michelle Bridges (from Biggest Loser Australia) books and have been trying to eat as many meals as possible out of them. My diet basically consists of cereal, salads, meat and veggies.

This morning I weighed in at 4.1 kgs lighter than what I started at 4 weeks ago. I can’t tell you how excited this makes me. ALMOST as exciting as when I tried on my old pre-pregnancy clothes a few days ago … AND THEY FIT!!! That is the best reward ever.

But I have this lingering fear of stacking it all back on, and undoing all the good work it took 4 weeks to do, in a matter of just days (or hours). I think about binge eating, and stuffing my face with cake, chocolate, cookies. At this stage I am finding it easy to resist temptation, but I think the time will come when I will be weak and will cave.

The key at the moment is to NOT buy things I know I shouldn’t be eating. That helps a lot. The other key is to always be carrying something with me I *can* eat, so that when someone busts out the cake/chocolate/cookies etc I have something to munch on and not start drooling over the bad foods.

Anyway, 4 weeks, just over 4 kgs. I am hoping I can keep this rate up for about another 6-8 weeks. The thing is, I haven’t really been incorporating much (if any!) exercise. I can only imagine how much better my loss would be if I was. But I am happy with 1 kg/week. I think that is healthy and may increase my chances of keeping it off.

It was way past time for me to stop complaining about my weight and do something about it.

NO EXCUSES.

One thought on “Weight Loss

  1. Woohoo!!!! Congrats!!! So happy for you!!

    I’ve inadvertently lost 22 lbs in the last month or two. However, I haven’t done it on purpose; my health has been the reason. So, I totally understand the fear of putting it all back on.

    Keep it up. You’re doing a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

