How Do You Mend A Broken Heart

A few months ago, when I was starting to get really interested in photography, I joined the photography community over at DPS. They have a lot of really helpful articles, as well as a fantastic forum with tens of thousands of members who are always willing to offer advice and constructive criticism. One of their contributors to the site is Natalie, a very talented photographer out of Hawaii.

My heart has been breaking for Natalie and her family today as last night they lost their 10 week old baby boy, Gavin, to pertussis (whooping cough). Poor little Gavin fought hard, but ultimately the whooping cough combined with RSV and pneumonia made the battle too great for the little guy.

I was glued to Natalie’s blog, reading the updates and, ultimately, the final result. I can’t begin to tell you how strong and full of faith this woman is.

No parent should ever have to outlive their children, and it is something you wouldn’t wish on anyone. I look at my son and I know that I would completely fall apart if anything were to ever happen to him. Today I have hugged him a little longer and tighter, and have again been reminded how very fortunate I am to have such a happy and healthy little boy. Why must it take someone’s great loss and personal tragedy to remind us of this? Why are we all guilty of taking what we have been so blessed with for granted?

If you have a second today, could you please say a prayer, send a thought, or send positive energy to Natalie and her family for healing and peace in their hearts. And give your kids an extra big squeeze for no reason at all but because you love them and because you can.

Leave a Reply

