Working Hard To Make A Livin’

I’m going to write this post, before I add the title, because if I keep making my titles about how long its been between posts, that will get old. As will starting every post with, “Sorry its been so long.” In actual fact, I’m NOT sorry it has been so long. I have been a lazy sod and have no excuses, nor apologies. I’d like to say its because I’ve been living such a full life outside of the internet that I’ve just neglected to write. But sadly life has just been busy, not full. I know I know, I have probably preached on here before about how I hate when people say they’re too busy to call or keep in touch. But this time its actually kind of true!

I have started working about 20 hours a week at a golf shop, add on top of that being a mum, wife, student (though I can’t start playing THAT card yet because class finished before my job started!)…needless to say I’ve been a bit run off my feet.

This job is essentially retail. I have never done retail in my LIFE and to that fact, I have never had a job where you’ve had to be on your feet all day. So the first week was a real shocker for my feet, legs, back etc. There have literally been days where I have come home from work, eaten dinner, and gone to bed by about 8 pm. During my second week on the job, I got SICK so the two days I did have off, I spent in bed or on the couch, with a stomach bug. Given that my second week of work JUST ended, I’m still not out of the woods. I haven’t eaten a proper meal in over 5 days. I have no appetite at all, and because of that, no energy.

Its not that I don’t have anything to gripe about, or anything to talk about. I’m sure I could find something (most recently I’ve been up in arms over government spending and THE COST OF BLOODY INSURANCE), but I just haven’t had the energy or the will to sit here, and write.

And sometimes I don’t want to whine about everything that irritates me. Because you know what? Lately that is a lot. Everything irritates the shit out of me. But I think I’ll leave that for another day.

That said, I had a great day today with my son. We played at the playground this morning, went for a swim this afternoon, and I feel like I can honestly say I had a lot of good moments with him today. I wasn’t frustrated at him ALL day like I have been recently. He is almost 17 months, so close enough to 2 that he thinks he can start pulling the “Terrible 2s” attitude with me. He throws things, hits things (and people!) and doesn’t listen. He has no idea what “no” means, or strike that, he knows what it means, but he doesn’t believe in it. Its been very trying. But he is doing well at childcare, so that is something I guess. I’m just not sure what. Will let you know when I figure it out.

Leave a Reply

