A Kindy Update…Among Other Things

Well the kindy dramas have somewhat been resolved. I got a message Thursday afternoon from the director of the child care centre saying she had good news, a spot had come available for Nicklas on Mondays and Thursdays, please call her back if we wanted it.

Originally our days were Tuesday and Friday but I told her we’d take any 2 days that came availble. At the time, she thought Tuesday and Thursday might come available, which would have been ideal. Those were the days I originally wanted! So the good news is he’s back in kindy, and this time will be in the toddler room. He will be SO MUCH happier in that room! I think he’s going to love it! I think the first few days might be rough, being as though he had such a bad experience there before. But hopefully it won’t take long to get to the stage where he cries at drop off but 2 minutes after the door is shut, he’s off playing and being fine. Just to make things a bit easier on his first day back, we’re going to have Mike drop him off. He doesn’t seem to get as upset, or stay upset as long, when Mike drops him off as opposed to me dropping him off.

The only thing left to do now is wait and see when he’ll be ready to go back! The first weekend after he started kindy he had a fever and runny nose. That turned into a cough and he hasn’t been able to shake it. A couple of medical professionals have told me that it can take as many as 6 weeks for kids/toddlers to shake a cough. If it was a little cough that didn’t bother him much, I’d probably think nothing of it. But it racks his whole body, and it wakes him (and us) up at night. He’s slept with us a couple of nights now, and I don’t think any of us get even a half decent sleep. It is just SO HARD to see your little boy in so much discomfort, and not be able to do anything about it. I can’t imagine how parents feel when their little ones have serious illnesses and they can’t help. I don’t remember the last time I felt so useless.

That’s pretty much all my mommy news. In personal news, I have had my second exam at uni, and am not sure when we’ll get those results back but hopefully soon. I am hoping I’ve done well enough in the two exams to have a little less pressure on the paper that is due at the end of this month. I know that sounds very underachieverish of me, but so be it. At the end of the day, I just want the piece of paper that will helpfully help me land a new job and a new career. I have applied for a few part time positions, only to hear nothing back, as usual. It is so discouraging. At least with Nicklas back in care two days a week, I have 4 days a week I am available to work, so that should work in my favour if I ever do get an interview, much less considered for a job.

I’m also half way through my second book in as many months. This is the most I’ve read since my pre-baby days. Unfortunately neither book I’ve chosen to read has been that stimulating. The first, a Dean Koontz book (The Taking) was so NOT what I am into in the entertainment area. Its about aliens, basically. They come and take everyone, except a bunch of kids and adults who actually have skills and the ability to rebuild civilisations from the ground up. It was so mind numbing. I never have been able to get into the whole aliens thing. X-Files? Yeah, think I’m the only person in the world who thought that show was just plain stupid. Now I’m reading Dan Brown’s “The Lost Symbol”. I find myself skimming through a lot of the commentary and just reading the discussion/conversation parts. I am not as intrigued by it as I was by The DaVinci Code and Angels and Demons. I think its because I saw an interview with him on The Today Show and he came off as quite…pompous. But I guess when you become as rich and famous as he has, somewhat overnight, it is likely to go straight to your head.

I should mention, if you were wondering what I am going to do about Melbourne Cup, my husband has put in for two days off work (Monday and Tuesday of Melbourne Cup) so since Nicklas will be in kindy  Monday, we’re having a date day, and Tuesday he’ll stay home and watch N while me and the girls go eat, drink and be merry…and maybe watch a horse race or two. I don’t really like to watch the horses get whipped, so I guess I’m just using it as an excuse to get dressed up, wear a hat, and have a few drinks before noon.

One thought on “A Kindy Update…Among Other Things

  1. Sorry to hear about Nick not feeling well. 😦 Poor little guy. But I’m happy to hear that a spot in the toddler room has opened up for him!! That’s wonderful!!

    What types of books do you enjoy reading? Maybe I could recommend something?

    Your mini holiday sounds like it will be great fun! 😀 Enjoy yourselves!

Leave a Reply

