Disgusted

I don’t know why news like this still surprises or elicits any kind of emotional response from me, but I’m so disgusted with the way some people behave. I have two case-in-points for this one (this second, in 5 minutes I might have a few more cases).

First, those of you who know me know that I am an avid hockey fan. And as a hockey fan, more specifically an NHL fan, I have enjoyed being able to brag to my football-fan-friends about how great NHL players are. They are well-behaved, do a lot of work for charities, and are rarely, if ever found on the front page of a newspaper for doing something illegal. I used to be able to count on one hand (two fingers to be exact) the number of times I’d heard of an NHLer getting into trouble with the law. One barely even counts, as it was a buck’s night (bachelor party) and they were simply asked by hotel management to keep the noise down. Another was when a has-been goalie got into a fight in a bar and was arrested. Outside of that, I can’t off the top of my head think of another time in the last few years that I’ve heard of a hockey player in trouble.

Until this week, when rookie sensation and Chicago Blackhawks player Patrick Kane was charged with assaulting a 62-year old cabbie because he didn’t have the $0.20 change Kane and his cousin were due. They beat him up over TWENTY CENTS, THEN they took the fare money and cleared off!

Now, if you go and google Patrick Kane, one of the first links that comes up is a link to a youtube video titled “Hockey’s Finest”. What a load of rubbish that is. He may have some skill on the ice, but he clearly has a lot of growing up to do. When he issued a public apology, he apologised for putting himself in the wrong place at the wrong time! Not for giving a 62 year old bruises and broken glasses. That, in my book, can’t even be considered an apology.

Now I know that Kane is only 20 years old, but c’mon. “Only” 20 years old? That is old enough to know better if you ask me. Yet somehow the kid has still managed to find himself representing the US in the next winter Olympics. That’s great punishment. I’m just so disgusted that people can behave this way and get away with it. An article I just read said that the Kanes, if convicted, could face up to a year in jail. Gee I bet they’re making their parents proud right now. I would be so dissappointed in my son if he ever did something like that. And I’m disappointed in Kane for…well for everything about this situation. He’s an embarrassment to the NHL. I have probably typed very similar words in regards to Australia’s very own Nick D’Arcy…another athlete with an out of control temper that landed him in some big trouble.

He’s not my other “case-in-point” though. This time its a woman, who rammed a police car, fled home (police followed her) and when they tried to arrest her, she STABBED THE POLICE DOG and lunged at officers. Of course the headlines this morning were “Woman shot by police after…” blah blah blah. I’m sorry, but if you stab a police dog and lunge at officers you deserve to get shot in the shoulder. AT LEAST in the shoulder! I might have taken aim at a foot or a leg or something, too.

There’s just so many stories out there that make me sit and think, “What the fuck is wrong with people?”

One thought on “Disgusted

Leave a Reply

