Neighbours, Everybody Needs Good Neighbours

We have never really spent any time with any of our neighbours – a few small conversations here and there. Well last night Mike spent an hour with one of our them…digging up pavers and dirt! We have a burst pipe in our back yard and our kind neighbour helped hubby locate the leak.

I am so frustrated. Why do little things like this have to happen? Now I’m sitting at home waiting for the plumber to call back and hoping that he’ll be able to get by here today.

As a thank you to our neighbour, I baked some banana bread this morning and took it over to them. I hope it was good, I didn’t cut it to check the inside because I wanted it to look like the perfect loaf of banana bread. Oh well, hopefully if it was bad they’ll realise its the thought that counts. HA!

Its just a shame it takes something like this to making a connection with your neighbours. I remember growing up with knew several of the people who lived in the cul-de-sac. But as an adult I have never been overly friendly with any neighbours. I guess that is a sign of the times though. I think people move more often now, and are too busy with their own lives to think about those around them. Last night I was glad for our neighbours…hubby never would have found the water shutoff if it wasn’t for them!

Leave a Reply

