1 Year Old Today

Dear Nicklas,

Looking at you sitting on our living room floor, eating everything you can get your hands on, it is hard for me to believe it was exactly 1 year ago (almost to the minute) that you came into our life. It is the most bizarre feeling, because yes, the time has gone fast, but I feel like I have known you my whole life.

Every day you make me smile, you make me laugh, and you astound me with how smart, funny and cheeky you are. It is like you know so much more than I could ever know.

We knew our lives would change forever by having you, we just didn’t know how much. We didn’t know that even though there would be trying times, there is absolutely no greater feeling of joy than when you smile at us, or babble at us like you are telling us the best story ever. And there is no greater heart ache than seeing tears flow from your eyes, or hearing cries and not being able to soothe them.

We didn’t know just how proud we would be over the smallest things, such as the first time you rolled over, clapped your hands, waved bye-bye, or took your first steps. We didn’t know how much our daily conversations would revolve around poop, pee, spit and any other bodily function you can think of.

We did know we would love you with all our hearts, but until you were here, we didn’t realise just our big our hearts could be.

I hope this is the first of many, many birthdays we will get to celebrate with you. This first year has been absolutely amazing, and I can’t wait to see what the next years hold.

All my love,
Mum

One thought on “1 Year Old Today

  1. I love these little notes you write to him. I hope he appreciates them, as much as I do, when he grows up!

    Thank you for sharing the glimpses into your lives. It’s a joy to watch him grow & learn. I can’t wait to hear the things that come out of his mouth!! (I assume he’s saying ‘mama’ and ‘dada’?)

Leave a Reply

