Its A New Dawn, Its A New Day

Its a new life, and I’m feeling gooood. Or something like that. I would not LOCK IN THOSE LYRICS, WAYNE.

I said I wasn’t looking forward to 2009, but I forgot one HUGE change that I was looking forward to, and that has just happened. G-Dub has flown back to good ol’ Texas, and can stay there until his dying day, if you ask me. I doubt he’ll be coming back out into the public eye too quickly, after the reception PRESIDENT OBAMA got (2.8 million people vs 400,000, need I say more?) and the hullabaloo surrounding the inauguration. Nobody threw a huge party like that for Bush. Actually, I wonder how much of the party was because Bush was gone, and how much was because Obama was in? In any case, it seems to have all gone smoothly, despite the idiot swearing him in (seriously, who can remember 10 words at a time in a situation like that?)  and despite Obama ignoring pleas from the secret service to not get out of the car. I couldn’t believe he did that. But then I can, because that is the kind of man he is. And Michelle Obama…to walk in heels for 2 blocks, she’s my hero. I can’t walk from the living room to the kitchen in heels. She is one classy lady. They are a classy couple, and I hope we haven’t put too much pressure on or raised our hopes too high for his first term. Oh who am I kidding, of course we have. If he lives up to any of the hype it will be a bloody miracle.

In personal news, I’ve taken the first few steps towards applying to university for my Masters degree. So, go me and all that. There is a section on the application where you have to write a brief paragraph on why you want to undertake this program. I thought about that for a while, and came up with several reasons. In the 9 years since finishing my bachelors degree and declaring I would never go back to school again, I have come to appreciate the importance of an education. Since having my son in June of last year, my brain has turned to mush and needs a new challenge. I want to make myself more competitive against the future job seekers I will be up against. It will force me to step out of my comfort zone, and hopefully get a little bit of my confidence back. It will be great networking, both personally and professionally. I haven’t met a lot of new people or made many new friends since we moved here (I can count on one hand, well, one finger, the number of new friends I have) and I think this will be a good opportunity to meet people. It will also be a good opportunity to make professional contacts, through assignments and group work, etc. I want to be a good role model for my son, I want him to know that its ok to like learning, to be educated and to want to be smart. See, lots of good reasons to go back to school.

But for now, while Nicklas is asleep, I’m going to go and watch my Brothers and Sisters episodes I’ve got waiting for me on DVD.

2 thoughts on “Its A New Dawn, Its A New Day

Leave a Reply

