Baby Sleep

I read 3/4 of a book called ‘Save Our Sleep’, by an “international baby sleep expert”. I must remember to check the book and see if that’s a self-professed title or if she has some qualifications, because I know one qualification she doesn’t have, and that’s a child.

Nicklas, by all accounts, isn’t a HORRIBLE sleeper. He’ll have a 2 hour nap in the morning and a 2 hour nap in the afternoon, and he sleeps somewhat decently at night, though I can count on one hand the number of nights he’s slept through. The big issue is that he has to be fed to sleep or “danced” to sleep (Mike usually puts the iPod on and dances around with him until he falls asleep).

What I want is to be able to put him in his cot and have him just fall asleep. No fussing, no screaming, no tears. This book has apparently worked for a lot of people, and maybe there’s just something I don’t get. Or I’m too soft to follow the procedure. What I got from it was that you put bub in the cot and leave them for x amount of time, depending on their age. Then you go in and stay with them until they’re asleep (if they haven’t gone to sleep already and if they’re upset). Well, I left Nicklas for the 18 minutes, and when I went in there, he had tears all over his face, SNOT all over his face, his face and head were bright red, and he had his head against the cot, looking at the door, arms outstretched through the slats, looking for someone to rescue him. Needless to say, I picked him up, took him into our room, and fed him to sleep.

Our next kid will be in his cot from day 1. Nicklas was in our bed for the first 4 months, maybe longer, but I think that started because I couldn’t walk/sit up for the first 3 weeks of being home and it was just easier. Hopefully the next delivery will be easier and I’ll be up and about much quicker.

I’m hesitant to do the whole leave him until he cries himself to sleep thing. Some experts say that can be emotionally damaging to a baby. Which I can see being true, but in some ways I think its probably being a little over-sensitive. Like with the whole “don’t mark exams in red because it is damaging”. Bullshit. We’re raising a generation of pansies if we’re going to stop marking grades in red and stop calling school “school” because it has a negative conotation to it.

But I have digressed. I am hoping that one day, or one night, Nicklas will just decide he doesn’t need the boob or the music to go to sleep anymore. He did it a couple of times when he was about 2 months old, but hasn’t since.

Leave a Reply

