Reasons to Vote

Here in Australia, we have no choice. If you are registered to vote, and you don’t, you are fined. It is illegal to not vote. I understand with the large population of the US, it would be next to impossible to make the same laws. But I think it is important that people get out and vote. That said, if you don’t know what you’re voting for then its probably best you sit it out.

Bill Clinton was on The View this week and was asked what he thought about the Hillary supporters who are now throwing their vote over to McCain because he has a woman on the ticket. President Clinton responded with something along the lines of, “You can’t tell people their reason for voting isn’t legitimate” or something to that effect. He explained that Hillary didn’t begrudge the African-Americans who were voting for Obama because of his race and he confessed that we all have prejudices that may make us identify with one candidate more than another.

At first I thought it was a good answer. But the more I thought about it, the more I disagreed with it. I am a woman, but that doesn’t mean I will vote for a woman because I identify with her gender. I don’t think people should vote for anyone because of their race, gender, religious views or any other superficial reason. People need to educate themselves on the issues then prioritize those orders with their beliefs and go from there. Abortion, civil rights, tax reform, budget and economy, gun control, education…just to mention a few. It can get confusing if you try to understand every bill regarding every issue, but I think if you look at the general overviews, decide what is really important to you, read up on where the politicians stand with those issues, then it will help you decide who to vote for.

I would much rather you tell me you voted for McCain because you are Pro-Life than “because he will put a woman in the White House.”

Leave a Reply

