The Gold Coast…11 Years Later

I was in the US for 11 years. When I left the Gold Coast, I was 18 years old. For those who suck at math, I was 29 when I returned. There are plenty of people who say you can’t go home, and I understand why. When I left the Coast’s population was approximately 300,000. There are now over 500,000 people living here, and it is crowded. The streets, the schools, the stores, the hospitals, everywhere you go, its crowded. And anyone who knows me will tell you, I hate crowds. That’s not to say I’m ready to pick up and move to Charleville (10 hours west), population 3500, anytime soon, but a small town feel would be much more relaxing. There is so much money on the Gold Coast that I feel like I’ve gone from one “keeping up with the Joneses” in Atlanta, to another. And being a one income family while I stay home with Nicklas is NOT going to help us keep up with these Joneses.

I think after our US trip next year we will look at other areas of Australia that might be suitable for Mike’s line of work and raising a family. The catch is I don’t want to be too far away from my mum, she is a godsend when it comes to keeping me sane staying home. She visits 4 out of 5 days after work and just getting 30-60 minutes of me time to do “normal” things like dishes or cook dinner is a huge help. Some places I’ve considered so far are Bundaberg, Mackay, Townsville, or “the mines”, whichever ones will take us. None of those are “close” to the Gold Coast by any stretch of the imagination, but they’re all in Queensland.

I honestly don’t know how I’d handle being a stay home mum without having my mum so close. I’ve had days where I understand why some women do what they do. The fact that I can understand that scares the crap out of me, because I felt much more sane when I thought they were all nut jobs. I don’t think I’m a nut job, and I KNOW that I am not going to snap and do anything to myself or Nicklas. But I can see where someone who was already a little mentally unstable might do so.

It’s 8:20 pm and I can’t think anymore. I feel like its midnight and I’ve been up for 24 hours. I don’t know how I used to pull those all-nighters in the newspaper office at college. I thought we needed less sleep as we got older? I think I’ll go get ready for bed.

Leave a Reply

