Small Victories

In the past week, we’ve had a couple of small victories in the land of parenthood. I wish I could say one of them was Nicklas sleeping through the night, but it wasn’t. TWICE in the last week, he has napped, IN HIS COT, long enough for me to take a shower. I know that sounds like nothing, but up until that first time, I could really only shower when someone was here to watch him. Once I tried to shower when I thought he was asleep, and when I got out, he was screaming. I had no idea how long he’d been screaming for. But lately he’s taken to having a nap around 10:30 am and that has been in his cot. Hey, anything that remotely resmbles a routine makes me absolutely giddy!

While he hasn’t slept through the night, he HAS slept for anywhere between 4-6 hours, usually waking around 12:30 for a feed, then again at 4:30. If I go to bed at 8:30, then by 5 am the next morning, I feel somewhat human. I realise this is going to severely cramp my evening television schedule, but at this stage I’m over the fact I miss L&O:SVU and will gladly take the sleep, thankyouverymuch.

It is amazing how having a shower and drying/styling your hair can make you feel human again. Unfortunately his naps don’t usually last for more than 45 minutes, so getting anything else done is still next to impossible.

I know I’ve mentioned it before, but there are times when Nicklas will look over our shoulders, or look at the wall, and he starts grinning so big, and making those adorable cooing noises that babies make. I KNEW there was someone there entertaining him, I just wasn’t sure who. A friend of my mum’s has confirmed it is Mike’s father, who passed away almost 6 years ago, playing games with him. I sure wish I knew what games he was playing, as Nicklas absolutely loves them. I think to witness these sessions would turn a skeptic into a believer in a matter of seconds. Mike played one of his dad’s favourite songs two nights ago, just to see if there was a reaction, and towards the end of it, the laughing and cooing started again. Some will say “coincidence” but I am convinced Chris is here, playing with his grandson.

Leave a Reply

