One Month

On Wednesday, Nicklas was one month old. Time DOES fly when you are a parent.Every time I think that I can’t possibly get more exhausted, we get through another night and I am MORE exhausted!

But in the last week, he’s started smiling, and that is so rewarding. He also does this half-sneeze thing, which I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before or not, but he doesn’t actually sneeze, he just shakes his head and makes the “ah-hoo” noise. If I can get it on video one day I’ll upload it. It might be the cutest thing I have ever seen and heard!

He loves to sleep on his daddy’s shoulder, and he has been sleeping in bed with us every night. Pre-parenthood, I swore that would never happen. And it is my goal to get him in his cot by the time he’s 3-4 months old. But when we do try to put him in his cot, it lasts anywhere between 15 and 30 minutes before he realises he’s not with us and he wakes up fussing.

He loves his bath, but hates having his nappy changed. He loves it when you hold him and bounce on the yoga ball. Sometimes it is the only thing that will calm him! He makes funny grunting noises when he’s farting or pooping, and kicks his feet up to his butt.  He is constantly moving his hands and his arms, as if he’s still trying to figure out what they’re for. He is still looking over my shoulder, watching something (or someone) in amazement. Yesterday he was smiling really big, like whoever is entertaining him was making fun of me or poking his tongue out at me.

He is also very strong with his legs and is always pushing with them, like he’s trying to stand on you. He can scoot himself up the bed, the change table, or your body if you’re not careful! He also holds his head up if you put him on your shoulder, and can hold it up for 20-30 seconds. He is very strong.

It is still so hard to believe that Mike and I created him, that I grew him inside me and birthed him into the world. I still wonder every day what kind of person he will grow in to.

He was asleep, but is starting to fuss again. That didn’t last very long! Here’s one of his one-month pictures, that every time I see I can’t but think, “How YOU doin’?”

Nicklas

Leave a Reply

