11 Days Later

Our little boy is already 11 days old! I can’t believe it! I don’t feel like I’ve been getting much sleep, but then what new mum expects to? He’s slept a lot during the days, so when he wakes up at 3 am, its 5 am before he eventually goes back to sleep. We’re trying to keep him awake more during the day, but newborns mostly just want to eat and sleep. So keeping him awake is not easy. We’ll see how he goes tonight, as he was up most of the morning.

I’m wondering if he’s got reflux issues. He often spits back up after a feed and has a LOT of wind. The midwife at the hospital said ALL babies have a lot of wind because their stomachs are just learning to digest. I pumped about 100mls of milk this afternoon, and thought I’d try that for the middle of the night feeds. Maybe if its easier to get the milk, he’ll feed and go back to sleep quicker? I don’t know, but anything is worth a try at this point.

Mike goes back to work Monday. I wish he had more time off. He’s taking another week off in August, but I’m not sure I’m ready to do this all on my own all day yet. I REALLY don’t know how teenagers cope with this, or how single mums do it. I guess you do what you have to, but I’m so lucky to have such a great husband to help. He slept most of last night, so at 6 am this morning, after being awake since 4, I gave him his son, and he entertained him while I slept for a couple of hours. Won’t be able to do that next week.

It really is true that when its your kid, nothing matters. The nappies and puke aren’t as gross, and you don’t mind being peed on or thrown up on. He is more wonderful than I ever could have imagined. It is hard to believe that we made something, someone, so perfect. Looking at him makes me wonder how people go from being such innocent, sweet little souls, to being grown monsters.

He makes the funniest noises and faces. And his sneezes are the CUTEST thing I have ever seen. Its difficult to get them on video though.

I also finally understand how people end up co-sleeping with their babies. Since I haven’t been able to sit up, all the feeding has been done lying down in bed. So when he falls asleep, its much easier to let him stay there than it is to move him and have him wake up and start fussing again. That said, he’s been asleep in his crib for almost 2 hours now, after falling asleep in our bed after a feed.

I am still sore, but I’m convinced at this stage its the hematoma, not the swelling or stitches. For all I know the stitches are no longer there. The swelling has gone down about 90% I think. And sitting, walking, etc. are all MUCH easier, its when I stand still that the pain comes. Its like all the blood rushes to that one spot and puts pressure there.  I hope it goes away quickly, but I’ve read that they can take weeks or months to go away. Les hope that’s not the case, because in 3 weeks, I’m a bridesmaid in my bff’s wedding and will have to stand for 30 minutes!

Leave a Reply

