Teenage Pregnancy Pacts

I think most people have heard about the 17 or so girls who are pregnant at a Massachusetts high school after making a pact to get pregnant and raise their kids together. One girl is said to have gotten pregnant after sleeping with a 24 year old homeless man.

One news article I read said the girls spoke of “unconditional love” and I guess they figured the only person who could do that would be a child. Who are they looking up to that makes them think this lifestyle would be at all desirable or glamorous? Jamie Lynn Spears? I’m sure it helps when you have a multimillionaire for a sister. I am 29 years old, have a husband, am about to have a baby and am still not sure I’m going to be able to handle it. There’s no way I could have cared for a child at 17 years old. Although, I guess if I had to, I would have figured it out. But its definitely not a path I would have purposefully chosen.

I am really curious to know what their parents are like. I’m not going to jump to any conclusions and assume that they’re absent in their kids lives and have no idea what is going on with them. I think even the most aware parents can have crazy things like this slip past them. But I wonder if any of their folks were young parents.

How do these girls think they’re going to provide for the babies?

The article mentioned that the school, situated in a predominantly white, Catholic area of Mass., was deliberating on ways to improve its sex education. Honestly, I think the girls were educated about sex enough. What they need is anti-teen pregnancy education…realistic classes/lectures about the consequences of teen pregnancy.

If I was a parent of one of those girls, I’d be wondering where I went wrong. What happened that I let my daughter get to 15, 16 years old and her biggest ambition was to have a child?

In my own pregnancy news, I think I’ve finally reached the point where I’d be really excited to go into labor because that means we’re that much closer to meeting him. I’ve also read that the calmer you are, the better the labor is. Panic can slow down or stop labor. For the most part I’m feeling really good, except when I try to sleep. Trying to get comfortable to isn’t easy. I have my 39 week appointment tomorrow, and then the doctor I’ve been going to moves offices. So next week, at 40 weeks, I’ll have to drive 20 minutes away for my check up. Maybe he’ll be here before then and I won’t have to worry about it.

Leave a Reply

