Long Awaited Post

A week and a half ago we moved into the place we’re renting from my mum. I thought I had planned enough ahead to have the phone and internet switched on upon arrival, but apparently bigshot phone companies are just as incompetent here as they are on the other side of the world. First, they connected our phone number to the wrong line, so some poor woman had her number changed without realising it! Then, because they f*d up, our ADSL internet connection was stuffed up because the phone number didn’t match the address I’d given them. That all got sorted out, just in time for us to wait the 3-5 days for internet to be connected, only to find out the day it was connected, our phone line went out! That took another 24 hours to fix. So finally, we have internet, and phone. To top it off, there’s something wrong with our antenna and we have a guy coming out Tuesday to look at it to see why our TV reception is so bad. And did I mention the ants I keep finding trails of?Ā  BUT, I’m not complaining (really, I’m not), because it could be much worse. Next week we’ll be all fixed!

I can’t believe that in just a matter of weeks we’re going to be parents. I’m trying to be calm and relaxed, but sometimes I just get plain freaked out. So much responsibility, so much to do and I don’t know how to do any of it. Nappies, feedings, sleeping – do you put them on their back or stomach? I can never remember! We have birthing classes starting in a few weeks. If I remember correctly its 5 or 6 weeks, 1 night a week. Hopefully that will help ease my mind, and not freak me out more!

I have been feeling ok – I still tire easily, which I guess is understandable. And I think the indigestion is starting. I don’t think I’ve ever really had it before – its not a very nice feeling! Feeling like you need to burp/puke all the time isn’t very pleasant. A few weeks ago I had a couple days in a row of swollen ankles and feet, that didn’t feel so good either. And walking around a lot makes my ankles hurt. Oh the joys of pregnancy! Other than all that, the belly is growing and he is moving around ALL the time now. It is fun to poke my stomach and wait for him to move around or kick back, like a little game we play. It still blows my mind that there’s a tiny baby in there making all those movements.

I was going to also post some rants about the government, but I think I’ll keep them for a separate post. Now that we have internet, I don’t have to try and cram everything into one blog post!

Leave a Reply

