Our Own Place & Settling In

I’ve been away from the internet for a few weeks, and technically am still away from it. But I managed to find a connection out there to post this. We should have our own internet connection late next week. We moved into a townhouse today. We’re fortunate that my mum was in a position to invest in a property and we are renting it. It’s a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom, split level place with a nice back patio that will be great for eating once we get an outdoor setting. We didn’t have that much stuff to move, but its still managed to take all day. My feet are absolutely killing me.

Up until now, we haven’t had a “home” in Australia, we’ve had places we were staying. This is finally a place we can call home, and we’re both hoping that helps us to settle in a little more. I think I am having a tougher time than Mike is, but I kind of expected that when we moved. It is hard to be away for 11 years and then to try come back and fit in. I feel like I have to find my place in the family again and that hasn’t been really easy. We left a lot of good friends and familiarity in Atlanta and its going to take us a while to find that here.

Little Nicklas has been kicking and squirming away. I can’t wait for him to be here. I know there’ll be no sleep and there’ll be dirty diapers and there’ll be crying and screaming and puking…and I still can’t wait! I have an appointment at the hospital Tuesday for an anti-D shot. With my blood type being rh neg and Mike’s being rh pos, there’s a chance the baby’s blood is creating anti-bodies which could harm the next baby (assuming there is a next baby!). Its amazing what the human body can and will do.

The only other big news really is that Mike got a promotion at work and is the shop foreman. They’re also sending him to Sydney for a 2 day class in May. I’m so proud of him.

Leave a Reply

