Sad News & Random Musings

We found out tonight that Mike’s grandfather passed away around 8 am Monday morning Detroit time. I know from experience how difficult it is for him right now to be this far away and lose someone you love. My grandfather died a year and a half ago, while I was still in Atlanta. And it is really tough to know how to feel and how to handle that situation. We are very thankful that we had dinner with him before we left, and that Mike got to talk to him a couple of weeks ago at Thanksgiving.

The random musings part of this blog is mostly to ponder the idea that the state we’re living in, Queensland, does not do the daylight saving time thing, so the sun is up at 4:30 am, and it is dark at 7 pm. For those of you in the northern hemisphere, dark early in December is normal, but keep in mind it is summer here, not winter! So the daylight saving time would make it light until about 8. It’s a little weird, but kind of nice. I’d never been a real morning person until I moved here, now the sun gets me up early and I go to bed early. I’m turning into a desperate housewife…up early to make my husband lunch and drive him to work. I’m just missing the 5 bedroom house and convertible car.

The other random thing is that I really miss Chick-fil-A, Shane’s Rib Shack, LaParilla, BW’s…and the fact that I’m hungry now is not being helped by mentioning those places. My mouth is literally watering. And we just moved into the unit today so we have no food in there for breakfast. I think I better stop talking about meals and food before I start gnawing on my fingers. Maybe I should open a Shane’s franchise here. I wonder if they’re franchised…I don’t know if Aussies love their BBQ the way Georgians do.

Leave a Reply

