Job Offer

I got offered a casual position with a golf store that sells equipment, accessories, clothing, etc. But it is a 45 minute drive from where we live and at this stage its only 9 hours a week. So its not worth taking it. The money I make would be spent on petrol to get there and back.

I am missing my TV. Brothers & Sisters, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice…all on ABC, and abc.com has full episodes online, but as I just found out, only people in the US can watch! What a rip!

I tried to transfer some money from our account in the US to our account here in Australia, and I can’t believe how difficult it is! You’d think with online banking and everything that something like that would be fairly simple these days, but no. How long do you think an international check would take to clear a bank? Take a guess. What’d you guess, 2 weeks? 3 weeks? Try 4! 20 business days! I couldn’t withdraw the money out of the ATM because I guess we’re not authorized to withdraw that much money (that much being not THAT much, and had it worked, I’d have had to go back 4 days in a row to get the amount out we’re trying to get). So that’s a pain in the butt.

In happy news, I have to call to schedule our first ultrasound today. I’m trying to schedule it for the 18th of December because that is the 12 week mark. I think at 18 weeks you can find out the sex of the baby, if the baby is cooperating! At the very least, we should get to hear a heartbeat at 12 weeks. It’s also to find out what my risk of having a Downs Syndrome baby is – low, medium or high. It’s not to find out if it has Downs Syndrome, that test comes later on and is optional. I guess the decision to have it would depend on what risk you are of having it. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed for a heartbeat at this point. I’ll think about Downs Syndrome later.

I’ve started looking at baby stuff. Yikes it is expensive! Especially at the baby shops. But that’s to be expected I guess. Never to worry, one of the local Targets has quite a good selection of stuff. I think it’ll be quite a few more weeks before we even start thinking about buying any of that though. That’s really about it. There’s not much to report on when you don’t do anything all day.

2 thoughts on “Job Offer

  1. Hello, Roh! Congratulations on your return to The Land of Roo’s!

    I’ve been extremely complacent about keeping in touch, but I hope everything is wonderful with you and you’re enjoying being back with your family!

    I’m giving more thought to starting a junior golf association in the state of Ohio, but I need a special consultant with lots of experience running a regional junior golf association. Do you kow anyone who may have those qualifications and be willing to communicate through the Web?

    Anyway, my yahoo messenger name is m_burnett123 if you use that service. I’m not on MySpace or Facebook, but that’s only because I’m not smart enough to use them. I guess I need a consultant for that, too!

    I hope I can talk to you again soon. Congratulations about the baby, and I’ll pray for health!

    bye for now!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

